Writing Local History: A Seminar

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Saint John's University
Recipient Type
Private College/University
In Progress
Start Date
December 2014
End Date
December 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
To provide professional development opportunities to central Minnesota writers interested in writing about local history.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Minnesota Historical Society Governing Board: William R. Stoeri, President Missy S. Thompson, Vice President Ruth Huss, Vice President D. Stephen Elliott, Secretary Dean M. Nelson, Treasurer Suzanne Blue Brenda J. Child Robert Bruininks Judith S. Corson D. Stephen Elliott Phyllis Rawls Goff William D. Green David R. Hakensen Ruth S. Huss Martha Kaemmer Dennis L. Lamkin David M. Larson Charles Mahar Dean M. Nelson Elizabeth M. Nordlie Dennis Nguyen Peter R. Reis Hussein Samatar Simon Stevens Susan Kenny Stevens William R. Stoeri Karen Wilson Thissen Missy Staples Thompson Eleanor Winston Ex-Officio: Mark Dayton, Governor Yvonne Prattner Solon Lieutenant Governor Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State Lori Swanson, Attorney General Rebecca Otto, State Auditor
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota for 2011 Chapter 6, Article 4, Subdivision 5, Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants.
Appropriation Language

Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants. $5,250,000 the first year and $5,250,000 the second year are for history programs and projects operated or conducted by or through local, county, regional, or other historical or cultural organizations; or for activities to preserve significant historic and cultural resources.

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Available upon request. Contact

Measurable Outcome(s)

The target of articles submitted for Mnopedia was not met. At the end of the workshop participants expressed interest (indeed, commitment) to writing at least one entry, but the timeline that the workshop proposed was unrealistic. Six months out, participants report greater output in smaller writing projects

Description of Funds
Available upon request. Contact
Source of Additional Funds

Available upon request. Contact

Recipient Board Members
Steve Armstrong, Dennis Beach, Terence Check, Tony Christianson, Brian Crevoiserat, Marilou Eldred, Patrick Ellingsworth, Stuart Harvey, Michael Hemesath, Eric Hollas, Ann Huntrods, Jim Jarocki, Bill Kling, Paul Krump, Peggy Ladner, James Lande, Benedict Leuthner, Dan McKeown, Joe Mucha, Cary Musech, Luke Newgaard, Tom Nicol, Rich Ostlund, Jose Peris, Robin Pierzina, Davie Rehr, Anthony Ruff, Mike Scherer, Thomas Schnettler, Bill Schubert, Jim Sexton, Prince Wallace, Dan Whalen
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Saint John's University
Street Address
2850 Abbey Plaza
Zip Code
Administered By
Administered by

345 W. Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155