State Capitol Preservation Commission

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Department of Administration
Recipient Type
State Government
Start Date
July 2011
End Date
June 2012
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Recipient Board Members
Commission Members

The 2011 Legislation forming the Capitol Commission created a 22 member commission. Membership was defined in statute as consisting of the:

Governor, Lt. Governor, Attorney General, and the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court; Senate Majority Leader, two additional members of the Senate Majority and two members of the Senate Minority; Speaker of the House, two additional members of the House Majority and two members of the House Minority; Commissioners of Administration and the Department of Public Safety; Historical Society Director and the Executive Secretary of the Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board; and Appointment of four public members.

The current State Capitol Preservation Commission Members include:

Governor Mark Dayton, Lieutenant Governor Yvonne Prettner Solon, Attorney General Lori Swanson, Chief Justice Lorie Skjerven Gilda – Designee Justice Paul Anderson, Senate Majority Leader David Senjem, Speaker Kurt Zellers – Designee, Representative Dean Urdahl, Senator Carla Nelson, Senator Ann Rest, Senator Keith Langseth, Representative Matt Dean, Representative Mary Murphy, Representative Larry Howes, Representative Alice Hausman, Commissioner Spencer Cronk, Department of Administration, Commissioner Ramona Dohman, Department of Public Safety, Historical Society Director and CEO, D. Stephen Elliott, Executive Secretary Nancy Stark, Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board, Ted Lentz—Public Member, James Dayton—Public Member, Dana Badgerow—Public Member, Larry Gleason – Public Member
Project Details

$550,000 the first year is for the purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.2405. This appropriation is available until spent.

Duties and Responsibilities of the Commission
1. The commission shall develop a comprehensive, multiyear, predesign plan for the restoration of the Capitol building, review the plan periodically, and, as appropriate, amend and modify the plan. The pre-design plan shall:
Identify appropriate and required functions of the Capitol building Identify and address space requirements for legislative, executive, and judicial branch functions Identify and address the long-term maintenance and preservation requirements of the Capitol building
In developing the pre-design plan, the commission shall take into account:
The comprehensive plan for the Minnesota State Capitol Area, as amended in 2010, ( The rules governing zoning and design for the Capitol Area Citizen access Information technology needs Energy efficiency Security, educational programs including public and school tours Any additional space needs for the efficient operation of state government
2. The Commission shall develop and implement a comprehensive financial plan to fund the preservation and restoration of the Capitol building.
3. By January 15 of each year, the commission shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over the commission regarding the activities and efforts of the commission in the preceding calendar year, including recommendations adopted by the commission, the comprehensive financial plan required under paragraph (a), clause (5), and any proposed draft legislation necessary to implement the recommendations of the commission.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Department of Administration
Street Address
50 Sherburne Avenue
Saint Paul
Zip Code