School Residency

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Ridgeway Community School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
May 2016
End Date
May 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Through our Book Arts Residency, at least 500 Ridgeway Community Students and community members will have exposure to creation and viewing books an art form. This opportunity is not typically available in our rural community. We will collect data on the number of children and community members involved. Ridgeway Community School families and community members will be asked to complete a short evaluation survey following the Saturday workshop and the capstone event.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Ridgeway Community School students made pop-up books, accordion books, and single-section sewn books. Each book project invited students to practice fine motor skills like cutting, folding, and sewing while making the 3-D book structure.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Rhonda Anderson, Samantha Conway, Jennifer Krings, Sheila Langowski, Judith Lubahn, Maggie McDermott, Anne Vande Berg
Project Overview
School Residency
Project Details
Ridgeway Community School Book Arts Fun, A World of New Ideas 2016
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Ridgeway Community School
Street Address
35564 County Rd 12
Zip Code
(507) 454-9566
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjel Alkire: art faculty, Winona State; John Becker: arts business owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director, Commonweal; Daved Driscoll: Artistic Director, Words Players; Julie Fakler: Director of Operations, Paradise Center; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Larry Gorrell: retired arts administrator; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Scott Roberts: visual artist; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Scott Roberts: visual artist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed