School Residency

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
La Crescent-Hokah Public Schools
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
March 2016
End Date
March 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

This activity will increase the quality of low-risk exposures (no cost to students, no time outside of school, 2-5 hours) to high quality theater for more than 140 students who live in an area that lacks informal opportunities to explore theater. 1) Student survey - interest in theater and the activity. 2) Student assessments - knowledge of the drama and character motivations. 3) Event attendance.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Rich exposure to theater. Expanded view of acting as a hobby or profession. Deeper understanding of the play as a result of working intently with the text over several days.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Kevin Cardille, Chuck Dockendorff, Bryan Tornow, Wade Welper, Ruth Nissen, Kent Summerfield, Nate Byom, Eric Morken
Project Overview
School Residency
Project Details
Shakespeare in the Schools - La Crescent 2016
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
ISD 300 La Crescent-Hokah Public Schools
Street Address
1301 Lancer Blvd
La Crescent
Zip Code
(507) 895-4484
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjel Alkire: art faculty, Winona State; John Becker: arts business owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director, Commonweal; Daved Driscoll: Artistic Director, Words Players; Julie Fakler: Director of Operations, Paradise Center; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
John Becker: arts business owner; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed