School Residency

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
La Crescent-Hokah Public Schools
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
March 2017
End Date
March 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

This activity will increase the quality of low-risk exposures (no cost to students, no time outside of school, 3-5 hours) to high quality theater for more than 140 students who live in an area that lacks informal opportunities to explore theater. 1) Student survey - interest in theater and the activity; 2) Student assessments - knowledge of drama and character motivations (content knowledge); 3) Event attendance.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Students gained a greater appreciation for the arts with a variety of active and highly engaging strategies. Active strategies also required students to explore character emotions, reactions, thoughts, and actions. See student survey for details.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Aaron Abnet, Chrissy Alioto, Nathan Byom, Erik Morken, Jill Rodeberg, Kent Summerfield, Wade Welper
Project Overview

School Residency

Project Details

Shakespeare in the Schools - La Crescent 2017

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
La Crescent-Hokah Public Schools AKA La Crescent-Hokah High School
Street Address
1301 Lancer Blvd
La Crescent
Zip Code
(507) 895-4484
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota; John Becker: art business owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Northland Words; Julie Fakler: education coordinator at Paradise Center for the Arts; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Lee Gundersheimer: former director of Great River Shakespeare Festival; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

John Becker: arts business owner; Julie Fakler: arts administrator; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed