School Residency

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Caledonia Area Elementary School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
August 2015
End Date
November 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Staff, students, and volunteers will spread the positive acts of respect, work, and belong from the walls of our school in to the homes and communities of Caledonia, Minnesota by creating an extended mural portraying the Warrior Way. We will be collecting data on the number of participants in painting and preparing the mural. We will also keep track of the number of people that attend our community-wide open house as we reveal our work. We will create videos and news stories that will be in the newspaper and on our website showcasing the process and products or our labors.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We transformed our building from a re-purposed high school to a welcoming elementary school. Community volunteers were supportive of the students, working together for a common cause.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Jared Barnes, Amanda King, Kelley McGraw, Jean Meyer, Michelle Werner, Jimmy Westland, Spencer Yohe
Project Overview
School Residency
Project Details
Warrior Way mural
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Caledonia Area Elementary School
Street Address
511 Main St W
Zip Code
(507) 725-5205x 1002
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjel Alkire: art faculty, Winona State; John Becker: arts business owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director, Commonweal; Daved Driscoll: Artistic Director, Words Players; Julie Fakler: Director of Operations, Paradise Center; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Larry Gorrell: retired arts administrator; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Scott Roberts: visual artist; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Scott Roberts: visual artist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed