Rural Arts and Culture Summit

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Sarina Otaibi
Recipient Type
Start Date
June 2015
End Date
June 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Yellow Medicine
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Artists and arts organizations build relationships with members of, or organizations that serve, groups that have traditionally been underserved by the arts or by the applicant organization. Anecdotal responses, contacts made, relationships built, ideas generated.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The Summit was a worthwhile and valuable event. I made contacts with other city leaders from the following cities: New London, Lanesboro, Bemidji and Winona. I was able to build on relationships I have built from previous years at previous conferences and events. Many ideas were generated from the Ground Up stories and breakout sessions that I attended. One idea I'd like to make happen in my community and organizations is to integrate photography and public art. I hope that I will be able to come up with a photography project within one organization that I volunteer for that combines photography, history, community members, and their favorite historic building.

Description of Funds
Project Overview
Rural Arts and Culture Summit
Project Details
Rural Arts and Culture Summit
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Sarina Otaibi
(320) 262-9514
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts board, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, former HS English/creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor SMSU; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Brett Olson: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor;
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Marshall Area Stage Company; Greta Murray: Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Executive Director.