An Oral History of Dorothy Molter

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dorothy Molter Foundation and Museum
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
March 2015
End Date
March 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
St. Louis
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota for 2011 Chapter 6, Article 4, Subdivision 5, Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants.
Appropriation Language

Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants. $5,250,000 the first year and $5,250,000 the second year are for history programs and projects operated or conducted by or through local, county, regional, or other historical or cultural organizations; or for activities to preserve significant historic and cultural resources.

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Available upon request. Contact

Description of Funds
Available upon request. Contact
Source of Additional Funds

Available upon request. Contact

Recipient Board Members
Butch Diesslin, President, Retired Professor
Gil Knight, Vice President, USFS Fire manager, Real Estate Agent
Sherry Abts, Secretary, Retired teacher
Rob Talkington, Treasurer, Business Owner
Peg Rosett, Retired Chamber Representative
Barb Cary Hall, Retired musician
Alyssa Nelson, Instructor, Vermilion Community College
Pam Brunfelt, History Professor, Vermilion Community College
Bill Latady, Curator, Bois Forte Heritage Museum
Bill Tefft, Retired Professor
Project Overview
To document in 10 oral history interviews the history of Dorothy Molter and her work in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dorothy Molter Foundation and Museum
Street Address
PO Box 391
Zip Code
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Minnesota Historical Society Governing Board: William R. Stoeri, President Missy S. Thompson, Vice President Ruth Huss, Vice President D. Stephen Elliott, Secretary Dean M. Nelson, Treasurer Suzanne Blue Brenda J. Child Robert Bruininks Judith S. Corson D. Stephen Elliott Phyllis Rawls Goff William D. Green David R. Hakensen Ruth S. Huss Martha Kaemmer Dennis L. Lamkin David M. Larson Charles Mahar Dean M. Nelson Elizabeth M. Nordlie Dennis Nguyen Peter R. Reis Hussein Samatar Simon Stevens Susan Kenny Stevens William R. Stoeri Karen Wilson Thissen Missy Staples Thompson Eleanor Winston Ex-Officio: Mark Dayton, Governor Yvonne Prattner Solon Lieutenant Governor Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State Lori Swanson, Attorney General Rebecca Otto, State Auditor