Minnesota's Legacy

Operating Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Graywolf Press
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
July 2016
End Date
June 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Graywolf publishes diverse and engaging contemporary literature that has the capacity to stimulate imagination and promote empathy among Minnesotans. Each book will be evaluated on the basis of artistic strength and diversity. Our outreach is evaluated by individual reader responses, event attendance, critical attention, and book sales. 2: Graywolf strengthens the Twin Cities literary community and increases the impact of literature in Minnesota through partnerships and collaboration. Literary community health is measured by the Creative Minnesota study, the caliber of events, and the vitality of bookstores and libraries. Graywolf evaluates the quality and number of our collaborations.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Graywolf published 33 exceptional books by local, national, and international authors, which made American literature more inclusive and innovative. All That Man Is by David Szalay was a finalist for the Booker Prize. Look by Solmaz Sharif was a finalist for the National Book Award in poetry. Gretchen Marquette and Ben Percy were finalists for Minnesota Book Awards. 2: Graywolf held 30 readings for 2,000 Minnesotans. The Graywolf Literary Salon drew 300 attendees in Minneapolis, connecting writers and readers. Graywolf collaborated on events with Anoka-Ramsey Community College, East Side Freedom Library, Frank Theatre, College of Saint Benedict, the Loft Literary Center, Minneapolis Institute of Art, and Northfield Public Library.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Catherine Allan, Trish F. Anderson, Carol Bemis, Milo Cumaranatunge, Rick Dow, Mary Ebert, Lee Freeman, Chris Galloway, James Hoecker. Mark Jensen, Tom Joyce, Will Kaul, Chris Kirwan, Ann MacDonald, Jim McCarthy, Ed McConaghay, Zachary McMillan, Allie Pohlad, Cathy Polasky, Mary Polta, Paula Roe, Gail See, Roderic Southall, Debra Stone, Judy Titcomb, Emily Anne Tuttle, Melinda Ward
Project Overview
Operating Support
Project Details
General operating support
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Graywolf Press
Street Address
250 3rd Ave N Ste 600
Zip Code
(651) 641-0077
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Officer at Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Ceramic artist. former executive director of the Minnesota Project.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Melissa Brechon: Faculty member, Masters of Library and Information, Saint Catherine University; Pamela Fletcher: Associate professor of English and director of writing at Saint Catherine University; Amy Hunter: Retired educator; board member, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts; Jonathan Lewis: Executive director, Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra; percussionist; Roxana Linares: Executive director, Centro Tyrone Guzman; Jill Moore: Executive Director of Great River Arts; E. Jane Olive: Retired nurse and transplant coordinator; community volunteer; costumer; Marjorie Ostroushko: Cofounder and manager of Giving Voice Chorus; public radio strategist and marketer; Michael Ricci: Director of theater at North Hennepin Community College; Dana Sikkila, Visual artist; executive director of the 410 Project art gallery and artistic director of Black Water Press
Conflict of Interest Disclosed