Operating Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Duluth Ballet AKA Minnesota Ballet
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
July 2016
End Date
June 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Otter Tail
St. Louis
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

By carefully identifying and meeting staffing needs, the Ballet will be able to apply resources and augment programs to greatest effect in Minnesota. Ballet staff, new staff position and board are fulfilling reconfigured duties; augmented programming is increasing appreciation of ballet as measured by outcome-based evaluation of participants.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Despite lack of funding to add a staff member, board and staff fulfilled reassessed duties to produce a year of strong resources and programs. Due to building damage, staff and board chose not to add development position now; it restructured roles for development work. Increased appreciation of ballet was evaluated by observation and surveys of those at programs.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Nick Campanario, Rachel Fuchs, Jayme Hartman, Renee Heytens, Betsy Holcomb, Rachel Inselman, Susan Johnson, Morgana Kolenda, Patricia Nielsen, Edward Schumacher, Carole Turner, Jeanne Urban, Mary Jo White, Melissa Winkler, Darlene Wolfe
Project Overview
Operating Support
Project Details
General operating support
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Duluth Ballet AKA Minnesota Ballet
Street Address
301 1st St W Ste 800
Zip Code
(218) 529-3742x 17
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Officer at Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Ceramic artist. former executive director of the Minnesota Project.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Nolita Christensen: Community and nonprofit management consultant; woodworker; Amy Demmer: Executive director, Grand Marais Art Colony; Sindiswa Georgiades: Project management and fund development professional; Sonja Jacobsen: Retired office manager, Jacobsen Metal Fabrication; vocal and instrumental music teacher; board member, Mankato Symphony; Colleen LeBlanc: Retired community educator; former Five Wings Regional Arts Council board member; Tammy Mattonen: Financemanager, Minnesota Discover Center (Chisholm); Laura Salveson: Director of the Mill City Museum; Rickey Shiomi: Playwright, director, cofounder of Mu Performing Arts; Bonnie Stewart: Cofounder, Sisters Sojourn
Conflict of Interest Disclosed