Operating Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Fergus Falls Center for the Arts, Inc. AKA A Center for the Arts
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
July 2011
End Date
June 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Otter Tail
St. Louis
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1. The arts are interwoven into every facet of community life. 2. Minnesotans believe the arts are vital to who we are. 3. People of all ages, ethnicities, and abilities participate in the arts. 4. The arts thrive in Minnesota and in Fergus Falls. Use quarterly focus group meetings that include many community members, exit surveys at programs, and annual membership survey.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Fergus Falls A Center for the Arts works with community members and organizations to show how the arts can be interwoven into every facet of life. A Center For the Arts continues to expand patron services. We also offer free concerts and $5 tickets for students. Our programs include scholarships, which have used by area citizens. The arts thrive through the Center's touring, presenting, community theater, and classes. Quarterly focus group meetings include many community members, and monthly meetings include the major presenters in Fergus Falls: Ottertail County Historical Society, Minnesota State, the Library, Convention and Visitors Bureau, Chamber of Commerce, and Destiny Drivers. Exit surveys for park concerts and survey monkey forms for series patrons were produced, and the membership will be surveyed.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Deb Ferguson, Steve Rufer, Scott Wagnild, Lisa Litt, Ben Schierer Melanie Dethlefsen, Deb Embretson, Mark Helland, Tim Hunt, Linda MacFarlane, Mark Olmsted, Nancy Straw
Project Overview

Operating Support

Project Details

General operating support

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Fergus Falls Center for the Arts, Inc. AKA A Center for the Arts
Street Address
124 W Lincoln Ave
Fergus Falls
Zip Code
(218) 736-5453
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Judson Bemis Jr., Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board., Ardell Brede, Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002., Peggy Burnet, Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Michael Charron, Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies., John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka., Ellen McInnis, Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Pamela Perri, Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota., Margaret Rapp, Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board., Anton Treuer, Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Lawrence Adams: Principal at LarsonAllen, LLP; Dianne Brennan: Director of development, Guthrie Theater. Member of the board of directors of Mixed Blood Theatre, and National Corporate Theatre Fund.; Beth Burns: Executive director, Lutheran Music Program, Inc. Board member, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Minnesota Music Coalition.; Anna Johnson: Independent arts consultant; Brian Jose: Executive director of fine arts programming, College of St Benedict/St John's University.; Herman Milligan, Jr: Consultant, board member for Artspace Projects, Independent Feature Project Minnesota, The Givens Foundation, and The Soap Ractory.; Richard Robbins: Director, Good Thunder Reading Series, and Director of Creative Writing MFA program at Minnesota State University Mankato.; Jeff Stevenson: Executive director, Great River Shakespeare Festival.; Sharon Tracy: Arts educator, Buffalo High School Art Magnet program. Secretary, Central Minnesota Arts Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed