Minnesota's Legacy

New Ulm Journal Microfilm Acquisition

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
New Ulm Public Library
Recipient Type
Start Date
December 2014
End Date
December 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota for 2011 Chapter 6, Article 4, Subdivision 5, Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants.
Appropriation Language

Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants. $5,250,000 the first year and $5,250,000 the second year are for history programs and projects operated or conducted by or through local, county, regional, or other historical or cultural organizations; or for activities to preserve significant historic and cultural resources.

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Available upon request. Contact

Measurable Outcome(s)

New Ulm Public Library is just beginning to measure the outcomes of this project. Library staff counts the number of microfilm reels left in a box beside the microfilm reader. The microfilm station is self-serve, so library staff has estimated about 40 microfilm uses in the past two months, which means a patron is accessing the film almost every day. This is a positive outcome that continues because of library staff's marketing efforts and customer service. The library's promotional efforts to market the microfilm service will continue, and usage is expected to increase incrementally.

Description of Funds
Available upon request. Contact
Source of Additional Funds

Available upon request. Contact

Recipient Board Members
Brett Olsen, David Gosdeck, Marion Klimmek, Judy Luker, Marie Guldan, Holly Postel, Mary Richter, Richmond Scharf, Georgia Portner
Project Overview
To add 104 rolls of microfilmed newspapers to broaden public accessibility to primary records.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
New Ulm Public Library
Street Address
17 N Broadway
New Ulm
Zip Code
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Minnesota Historical Society Governing Board: William R. Stoeri, President Missy S. Thompson, Vice President Ruth Huss, Vice President D. Stephen Elliott, Secretary Dean M. Nelson, Treasurer Suzanne Blue Brenda J. Child Robert Bruininks Judith S. Corson D. Stephen Elliott Phyllis Rawls Goff William D. Green David R. Hakensen Ruth S. Huss Martha Kaemmer Dennis L. Lamkin David M. Larson Charles Mahar Dean M. Nelson Elizabeth M. Nordlie Dennis Nguyen Peter R. Reis Hussein Samatar Simon Stevens Susan Kenny Stevens William R. Stoeri Karen Wilson Thissen Missy Staples Thompson Eleanor Winston Ex-Officio: Mark Dayton, Governor Yvonne Prattner Solon Lieutenant Governor Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State Lori Swanson, Attorney General Rebecca Otto, State Auditor