Minnesota Festival Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Rain Taxi, Inc. AKA Rain Taxi Review of Books
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
April 2013
End Date
December 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Cultural Heritage

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

We will provide a venue for Minnesota authors and organizations to present and promote their work and interact with over 6,000 members of the public. Rain Taxi will expand exhibit space and create more programming that features Minnesota authors and organizations, and survey participants afterwards for feedback. 2: We will increase attendance at the festival, providing opportunities for the public to interact with authors, publishers, and arts organizations. Rain Taxi will increase promotional efforts, including advertising, social media, and local business and community partnership, to make more Minnesotans aware of the Festival and the rich literary heritage of the state.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The Festival increased exhibit space to allow for more Minnesota authors and publishers to present their work to the general public with over 110 exhibitors and 32 local exhibiting authors. In the Local Lit Lounge, people mingled with over 20 Minnesota authors who had published recent titles, including the North Shore's Jim Northrup and Wendy Webb. Southeastern Minnesotan Howard Mohr presented his revised How To Talk Minnesotan. The Classics Old and New Panel featured Minnesota Book Award winners Marlon James and Alison McGhee. Writers at Work featured four local authors who face practical and creative issues of making a living at writing. The Minnesota Poetry Showcase presented recent work by four local poets, including Matt Rasmussen who was nominated for a National Book Award and award-winning poet Patricia Kirkpatrick. The Children's Pavilion hosted over a dozen local storytellers and artists including Mary Logue, Kurtis Scaletta, and SA Bodeen. 2: By increasing publicity and outreach through libraries and bookstores, the Festival drew in a record number of Minnesotans, with over 6300 attendees. Through a free raffle and surveys, we estimated that attendees represent over 175 zip codes across the state, with over 80% drawn by the main book fair. The average length of stay was over two hours. 90% said the Festival contributed significantly to the cultural vitality of the Twin Cities. The expanded space for the exhibit and Children's Pavilion, along with multiple food vendors, made the venue family friendly and allowed for a lengthy stay to take in the wide variety of literary diversity.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Kelly Everding, Kevin Fenton, Mark Gustafson, Kristen Hager, Timothy Hedges, Pamela Klinger-Horn, Kathryn Kysar, Margaret Telfer, Bethany Whitehead, Elisabeth Workman
Project Overview
Twin Cities Book Festival
Project Details
In 2013, Rain Taxi will produce its 13th annual Twin Cities Book Festival at the Minneapolis College of Art and Design. The festival will feature more than 100 Minnesota authors, publishers, booksellers, and book artists, as well as select national writers.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Rain Taxi, Inc. AKA Rain Taxi Review of Books
Street Address
PO Box 3840
Zip Code
(612) 825-1528
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr.: Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka.; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Pamela Perri: Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota.; Margaret Rapp: Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Eileen Banks: Past board member, Minnesota Fringe Festival; Social Worker, Hennepin County; Stephanie Busiahn: Executive Director, Fairmont Convention and Visitors Bureau; Kelly Finnerty: Deputy Director of Programs, The Bakken Museum, Minneapolis; Faith Krogstad: Community organizer, Hamline Midway Coalition, St. Paul; festival and events coordinator; Leif Larsen: Producer, music events for MPR; advertising executive; Barbara Mollberg: Dean of Academic Affairs, Rochester Community and Technical College; Paul Robinson: Company Manager, In the Heart of the Beast Puppet and Mask Theatre, Minneapolis; Margaret Vosburgh: Manager, Memorial Auditorium Performing Arts Center, Worthington
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Executive director Sue Gens (651) 215-1600