Minnesota Festival Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Frozen River Film Festival
Start Date
January 2013
End Date
October 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Le Sueur
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Cultural Heritage

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Frozen River Film Festival will attract more Minnesota film submissions as well as musicians and visual artists. An analysis of our final program will determine the increase of Minnesota speakers, musicians, filmmakers, visual artists and performance artists. 2: Frozen River Film Festival will increase the number of attendees, including students and adults, to the film festival. We have different ticket styles for adults, college students and K-12 students and so are able to have an accurate count of the number of attendees in each category. We also have a system for determining where attendees live.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The Frozen River Film Festival hosted the most number of Minnesota filmmakers and films: Nick Clausen, Sidewalk Sonata Piano on Parade project in St Paul; Gwen Breisemeister, A Small Wooden Box Little Free Library idea; Robert Pack, Otakuke Hdihunipi Dakota for All relatives have come home; Phil Lawrence, Numb new info on pharmaceutical industry and antidepressants; Mike Scholtz Wild Bill’s Run; Jim Tittle, The Price of Sand impact on communities of frac sand mining in Wisconsin and Minnesota. This reflects an increase in films submitted to the festival. Minnesota musicians included Betsy Neil and Winona Fiddlers, Liberty Kohn, Matthew Byrnes, Tom Dukich, Stacy Hughes, Mike Munson, Molly Greening and Betsy Neil and Cindy Johnson. Visual artists exhibiting on Sunday included: Penelope Frederickson, Kathie Mayo, Joan McGill, Stacie Blair-Nelson, Maryann Frietsche, Rachel Vogel, Marie Kovecsi, Jennifer Weaver, Mary Singer, Jovy Rockey and a group of WSU Professor Chun Lok Mah’s art students. 2: Frozen River Film Festival experienced the largest attendance and filled the most seats, 4450, in its eight year history in 2013. These numbers reflect a steady increase in attendance each year. We are moving the dates of the festival to February 18-22, 2015 to accommodate the expected growth. The main venue remains Winona State University. We measure attendance by tickets sold plus tickets distributed to sponsors and head counts at each film or workshop venue.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Lyle Blanchard, Cherie C. Harkenrider, Betsy Midthun, Sue Meine, Mike Kennedy, Jennifer Knapp-Severson, Eric Nelson, Paul Soukup, Chad Ubl, Andrea Wood
Project Overview
Frozen River Film Festival
Project Details
The Frozen River Film Festival will present the art of documentary filmmaking to celebrate community and to connect audiences with filmmakers and other artists who explore global and local issues that focus on our human connection to our world. The festival will take place in Winona, January 23-27, 2013.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Frozen River Film Festival
Street Address
PO Box 647
Zip Code
(480) 522-7940
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr.: Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka.; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Pamela Perri: Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota.; Margaret Rapp: Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Eileen Banks: Past board member, Minnesota Fringe Festival; Social Worker, Hennepin County; Stephanie Busiahn: Executive Director, Fairmont Convention and Visitors Bureau; Kelly Finnerty: Deputy Director of Programs, The Bakken Museum, Minneapolis; Faith Krogstad: Community organizer, Hamline Midway Coalition, St. Paul; festival and events coordinator; Leif Larsen: Producer, music events for MPR; advertising executive; Barbara Mollberg: Dean of Academic Affairs, Rochester Community and Technical College; Paul Robinson: Company Manager, In the Heart of the Beast Puppet and Mask Theatre, Minneapolis; Margaret Vosburgh: Manager, Memorial Auditorium Performing Arts Center, Worthington
Conflict of Interest Disclosed