Minnesota's Legacy

Minnesota Festival Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Cultural Diversity Network of Owatonna AKA CulturFest
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
September 2012
End Date
September 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
St. Louis
St. Louis
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Cultural Heritage

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The variety and number of Minnesota artists that are presented through festivals increases. The variety and number of folk and traditional arts and artists that are presented through festivals increases. Minnesota festivals have greater financial stability and serve broader audiences. The number of Minnesotans who experience the arts through festivals increases. Survey feedback was positive, and we received media coverage from local television and newspapers.

Measurable Outcome(s)

CulturFest 2012 was held on September 22nd, as planned, with an audience of approximately 2,500 people attending. The weather was a factor this year, with fewer people present in the first couple of hours. This year's festival included all Minnesota artists, except for one mainstage performer. We were able to expand artistic expression by increasing the number of creative demonstrations. Included among the artists were Minnesota-based Mariachi mi Tierra, an eight-person Mexican band; Rince na Chroi, Irish dancers; Roger Hellesvig, Norwegian immigration reenactment; ArtOrg, steamroller printing with a Mexican focus; Shakun Maheshwari, Rangoli from India; James Grafsgaard/Brenda Flores, visiting Mayan arts residency; Carolyn Waskow, angora rabbit wool spinning with Minnesota lamb and wool producers; Minnesota Lace Society, four representative artists; Steele County Historical Society, a leather worker; and Dan/Paula Simon, Minnesota Alpacas. From Tennessee, we welcomed Mary Brown, bluegrass singer/songwriter. Ten Thousand Villages was our only vendor of art, offering Fair Share sales. 2: During this year's event, we maintained five presenting artist groups and increased our demonstrating artists--from an average of five last year to eleven this year. Audience surveys showed that the increased demonstrations were a popular and well-received component of the day's activities.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Thomas Gillach, Mark Muhich, H. Martin Zuponcic, Rhonda Zuponcic, Gerry Kangas, Catherine Uhan, Matt Uhan, Erika Blee, Stuart Blee, Patrick Roche, Carver Richards, Eric Erie, Mary Mulari, Barbara Baldrica, Dean Gibson
Project Overview
Minnesota Festival Support
Project Details
On September 22, OwatonnaÆs CulturFest, an interdisciplinary arts festival, will celebrate the cultural diversity of the area through music, dance, and folk art performances and demonstrations.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Cultural Diversity Network of Owatonna AKA CulturFest
Street Address
PO Box 1015
Zip Code
(507) 390-5850
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr., Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board., Ardell Brede, Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002., Peggy Burnet, Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Michael Charron, Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies., John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka., Benjamin Klipfel, Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.,Ellen McInnis, Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Pamela Perri, Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota., Margaret Rapp, Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board., Anton Treuer, Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Patricia Canelake: Artist; Anastasia Faunce: Program director, University of Minnesota College of Continuing Education. Editor, Open to Interpretation series.; Lori Janey: Design engineer, Seagate Technology. Board chair, Minnesota Chinese Dance Theater. Fundraising and volunteer management, Wishes for the Sky.; Wendy LaRoque-Lundin: Native American fiber artist and educator.; David Machacek: Executive director, ArtOrg. Visual artist.; Fiona MacNeill: Academic Technologist for the Arts, Carleton College. New media/performance artist and curator.; Barbara Mollberg: Dean of Liberal Arts, Rochester Community and Technical College.; Mary Ann Okner: Performing artist and educator.; Sharon Stark: Executive secretary, Little Theatre of Owatonna. Administrative Assistant, Owatonna Arts Center.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed