Minnesota's Legacy

Minnesota Festival Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2019 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Frozen River Film Festival
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
September 2018
End Date
August 2019
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Cultural Heritage

2019 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The Winona community experiences the art of film through workshops, screenings, and interactions with filmmakers at Frozen River Film Festival. Evaluation will be through participant surveys and video interviews; listening sessions at town halls and focus groups; social media interactions; observation; and zip code analysis of attendees.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Minnesota Festival Support

Project Details

The Frozen River Film Festival will present the art of documentary filmmaking in celebration of community. Festival activities will connect audiences with filmmakers and other artists who explore global and local issues that focus on our human connections to the world.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Frozen River Film Festival
Street Address
160 Johnson St
Zip Code
(763) 291-4754
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse: Mayor of Red Wing, elected 2016. Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Philip McKenzie, Oboe and English horn player; adjunct oboe faculty, NDSU; Mary McReynolds-Pellinen: Executive director, Lyric Center for the Arts; coordinator, First Stage Gallery; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund.; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Adrienne Dorn: CEO and founder, Horseet, a nonprofit consulting and innovative artist management firm; former executive director of the Cedar Cultural Center; Robin Gillette: Arts consultant; former executive director, Minnesota Fringe Festival; Jay Gilman: Associate director, MN Fringe Festival; Seth Kaempfer: Director of St Cloud State LGBT Resource Center, organizer of St Cloud Pride; Amanda Lien: Former executive director, Crookston Area Chamber of Commerce and Convention and Visitor's Bureau; James Robertson: Photographer; retired director of New York Mills Cultural Center; Iris Shiraishi: Composer, musician, and educator; founder of ensemble-MA for TaikoArts Midwest; Alejandra Tobar: Founder, People's Movement Center; consultant and performer with Pangea World Theater

Conflict of Interest Disclosed