Legacy for Individual Artists

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dana Johnson
Recipient Type
Start Date
November 2013
End Date
April 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Lac qui Parle
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

More Minnesotans, especially those in the Southwest Minnesota Region, will be able to participate in the arts.I will measure the outcome of the project by counting video views and downloads, broadcast time, radio plug time, and I will have a survey for people that attend the screenings or watch it online/broadcast. I will feature the video in a web newsletter and ask for written comments about the film. I will assemble all the data into a large report detailing all the effects of the film. I will record any opportunities that come about because of the production of my film.

Measurable Outcome(s)

I learned an incredible amount of knowledge while filming "Xenos." I've never managed such a large crew and as a filmmaker, the project was a massive undertaking. There is no substitute for this kind of large scale experience. With the equipment purchased I was also able to make another film, "Haiti Love," that won an Emmy in 2014. "Xenos" will be entered into the Emmys and into many film festivals in 2015 so it has the potential to expand my reach within the next year. I held three major events: screenings

Project Overview
Legacy for Individual Artists
Project Details
Short Film
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dana Johnson
(320) 220-1336
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Jane Link: visual artist, Milan Village Arts School founding member, Milan Community Education, Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Randy Meyer: visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, developed a curriculum focused on the visual arts, literature, and modern and traditional music of Spain and Latin America, Lincoln County Pioneer Museum board member; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County board member; Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board member; Audrey Fuller; writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Lisa Bergh: visual and media artist, Saint Cloud State University art professor; Bob Dorlac: visual artist, Southwest Minnesota State University art professor; Jais Gossman: writer, visual and media artist, Jesse White: visual artist; Paula Nemes: musician, theatre artist; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed