J.J. Astor Park Phase I Archaeological Survey

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
City of Duluth (Planning Division)
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
In Progress
Start Date
December 2014
End Date
December 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
St. Louis
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota for 2011 Chapter 6, Article 4, Subdivision 5, Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants.
Appropriation Language

Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants. $5,250,000 the first year and $5,250,000 the second year are for history programs and projects operated or conducted by or through local, county, regional, or other historical or cultural organizations; or for activities to preserve significant historic and cultural resources.

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Available upon request. Contact

Measurable Outcome(s)

The evaluation metrics called for completion of pre-field research; completion of site mapping, surface evaluation, and random shovel testing; submittal of the final report; recommendations for on-going site stabilization; and development of a preservation plan. These evaluation metrics were all met and are reflected in greater detail in the attached Phase I survey. The results were achieved through successful project management of the consulting conducting the work.

Description of Funds
Available upon request. Contact
Source of Additional Funds

Available upon request. Contact

Recipient Board Members
Jay Fosle, Sharla Gardner, Howie Hanson, Jennifer Julsrud, Linda Krug, Emily Larson, Barb Russ, Joel Sipress
Project Overview
To hire a qualified archaeologist to conduct a survey of J. J. Astor Park, Duluth.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
City of Duluth (Planning Division)
Street Address
411 W. First Street, Room 208
Zip Code
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Minnesota Historical Society Governing Board: William R. Stoeri, President Missy S. Thompson, Vice President Ruth Huss, Vice President D. Stephen Elliott, Secretary Dean M. Nelson, Treasurer Suzanne Blue Brenda J. Child Robert Bruininks Judith S. Corson D. Stephen Elliott Phyllis Rawls Goff William D. Green David R. Hakensen Ruth S. Huss Martha Kaemmer Dennis L. Lamkin David M. Larson Charles Mahar Dean M. Nelson Elizabeth M. Nordlie Dennis Nguyen Peter R. Reis Hussein Samatar Simon Stevens Susan Kenny Stevens William R. Stoeri Karen Wilson Thissen Missy Staples Thompson Eleanor Winston Ex-Officio: Mark Dayton, Governor Yvonne Prattner Solon Lieutenant Governor Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State Lori Swanson, Attorney General Rebecca Otto, State Auditor