Minnesota's Legacy

Jackson County Newspaper Microfilming

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Jackson County Historical Society
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
December 2014
End Date
December 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota for 2011 Chapter 6, Article 4, Subdivision 5, Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants.
Appropriation Language

Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants. $5,250,000 the first year and $5,250,000 the second year are for history programs and projects operated or conducted by or through local, county, regional, or other historical or cultural organizations; or for activities to preserve significant historic and cultural resources.

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Available upon request. Contact

Measurable Outcome(s)

The task was completed insuring the microfilmed papers will exist far into the future. This insures access to the historical data that exists on their pages. This is what we intended to do.

We planned as carefully as we could, but we underestimated the total number of pages in the 30 years of newspapers. If we counted every page is the only way we could be more accurate.

The owners of the papers were very happy with the condition the papers were returned and the binding was well done.

Description of Funds
Available upon request. Contact
Source of Additional Funds

Available upon request. Contact

Recipient Board Members
Hennan Rost,
Mark Titus,
John Hay,
Paula Bargfrede,
Sherry Schoewe,
Everett Tusa,
Randy Winter,
Ron Kenyon,
Sedrick Borsgard,
Gwen Fleace,
Richard Erickson,
Delia Emmerich,
Rosemary Schultz
Project Overview
To microfilm newspapers from Jackson, Pipestone, and Ramsey Counties to broaden public accessibility.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Jackson County Historical Society
Street Address
PO Box 238, 307 North Highway 86
Zip Code
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Minnesota Historical Society Governing Board: William R. Stoeri, President Missy S. Thompson, Vice President Ruth Huss, Vice President D. Stephen Elliott, Secretary Dean M. Nelson, Treasurer Suzanne Blue Brenda J. Child Robert Bruininks Judith S. Corson D. Stephen Elliott Phyllis Rawls Goff William D. Green David R. Hakensen Ruth S. Huss Martha Kaemmer Dennis L. Lamkin David M. Larson Charles Mahar Dean M. Nelson Elizabeth M. Nordlie Dennis Nguyen Peter R. Reis Hussein Samatar Simon Stevens Susan Kenny Stevens William R. Stoeri Karen Wilson Thissen Missy Staples Thompson Eleanor Winston Ex-Officio: Mark Dayton, Governor Yvonne Prattner Solon Lieutenant Governor Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State Lori Swanson, Attorney General Rebecca Otto, State Auditor