Minnesota's Legacy

Historic Fort Snelling Archaeology Collections

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Minnesota Historical Society
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
July 2013
End Date
June 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Session Law Reference: Laws of Minnesota 2013, Regular Session, chapter 137, article 4, section 2, subdivision 5, (b) (2) Programs
Appropriation Language

Programs: $5,525,000 the first year and $5,675,000 the second year are for programs and purposes related to the historical and cultural heritage of the state of Minnesota, conducted by the Minnesota Historical Society.

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Inventory of the Fort Snelling archaeology collections to- date has resulted in the creation of almost 50,000 new catalog records in the Collections Management System, which represent just over 70,000 individual artifacts. Descriptions and photographs of over 200 artifacts are now available to the public via Collections Online. In addition, Historic Fort Snelling interpretive staff have been made aware of numerous objects and object groups in the collections that have potential to enhance and expand interpretation of the military occupation of Fort Snelling. Evidence of the presence of under-represented groups such as enslaved persons and Dakota Indian people at Fort Snelling have been identified in the collections. Student workers from the University of Minnesota have assisted in the inventory.

Recipient Board Members
"Minnesota Historical Society Governing Board:

William R. Stoeri, President
Missy S. Thompson, Vice President
Ruth Huss, Vice President
D. Stephen Elliott, Secretary
Dean M. Nelson, Treasurer

Suzanne Blue
Brenda J. Child
Robert Bruininks
Judith S. Corson
D. Stephen Elliott
Phyllis Rawls Goff
William D. Green
David R. Hakensen
Ruth S. Huss
Martha Kaemmer
Dennis L. Lamkin
David M. Larson
Charles Mahar
Dean M. Nelson
Elizabeth M. Nordlie
Dennis Nguyen
Peter R. Reis
Hussein Samatar
Simon Stevens
Susan Kenny Stevens
William R. Stoeri
Karen Wilson Thissen
Missy Staples Thompson
Eleanor Winston

Mark Dayton, Governor
Yvonne Prattner Solon Lieutenant Governor
Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State
Lori Swanson, Attorney General
Rebecca Otto, State Auditor"
Project Overview
The website currently under development will include an explanation of the digitization process and importance of the conservation project and 3D-scanning techniques performed during 2012 and 2013. It will also house the 3D images, providing a user-friendly way to search images by categories and learn the interpretation of the carvings. Finally, the website will discuss the history of how the site has been interpreted, including examples of past documentation recorded about the Jeffers Petroglyph site and links and records of all Jeffers Petroglyph-related materials held in the MNHS collections.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Minnesota Historical Society
Street Address
345 Kellogg Blvd. W
Saint Paul
Zip Code