General Operating Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Albert Lea Art Center
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
April 2016
End Date
November 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The Albert Lea Art Center, for 57 years, has promoted and educated the arts in our Southern Minnesota area. Through new classes, lectures, special events and exhibitions for all people, of all ages and ethnic groups, we are growing this participation. We will collect attendance numbers, review visitor comments, look for larger membership enrollment, revenues and artist participation, take surveys and photos, and listen to the buzz of conversation and stories that signify a successful event.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The participation of a broader variety and a larger number of people in our activities and events. Thanks to better promotion, word of mouth, and unusual exhibition topics and events, we included several people who were first timers to our activities.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Carole Bower, Bev Jackson Cotter, Tom Ferleman, Diane Landaas, Tom Mullen, Darlyne Paulson, Sue Rechtzigel, Marty Shepard, Grace Skaar, Beth Tostenson, Donna Widenhoefer
Project Overview
General Operating Support
Project Details
Staff expenses, April - November, 2016
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Albert Lea Art Center
Street Address
PO Box 313
Albert Lea
Zip Code
(507) 373-5665
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John Becker: art business owner; Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Winona State University; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Words Players; Julie Fakler: education coordinator at Paradise Center for the Arts; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Paula Michel: Harmony Arts Board member; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: arts administrator; Kathy Peterson: playwright; Kathy Rush: thespian; Mary Ruth: artist; Jon Swanson: arts administrator; Joan Sween: playwright; Sandy Thompson: arts administrator; Gary Tollers: arts administrator.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed