Established Artist

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Colleen J. Ihrke
Recipient Type
Start Date
April 2017
End Date
September 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Recognize and address real environmental issues facing our rivers and fresh water supplies. Provide education of waist management using the visual arts to teach an endless audience and make a positive, environmental difference for our state's future. I will keep a picture diary of the daily transformation of the run down building into its new restoration, and put together a video presentation to be presented at the "Meet the artist" event. I also will post the video on my Facebook page.

Measurable Outcome(s)

All my goals were met. Thousands of people have been changed by my mural in a positive manner, which will help save the Zumbro River and its community for many generations to come.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview

Established Artist

Project Details

Southeastern Zumbro River Trails Mural

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Colleen J. Ihrke
(507) 486-6454
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota; John Becker: art business owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Northland Words; Julie Fakler: Director of Operations at Paradise Center for the Arts; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Lee Gundersheimer: theatre artist and director; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Scott Anderson: musician; Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; Susan Joyce: author; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: arts administrator; Carter Martin: theatre artist; Beth Nienow: literary artist; Kathleen Peterson: playwright; Jon Swanson: arts administrator.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed