Established Artist

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Margaret A. Bauernfeind
Recipient Type
Start Date
September 2016
End Date
June 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

I expect to serve new readers with stories of people and places on Minnsota Highway 74 in a published book. I will conduct a capstone writing workshop, and others if needed, directed at writers who want to improve their writing skills. Publish interviews/research about people/places on Southeastern Minnesota Route 76 from Weaver through White Water Valley in a book. Do book signings locally. Ask workshop participants what they have learned and use feedback to promote future workshops.

Measurable Outcome(s)

I published the book Return to Backyard Canyon. Title changed by the publisher for better marketing. I conducted two Capstone events. I plan two presentations with Wabasha and Plainview libraries as writing events.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview
Established Artist
Project Details
Alien in an Old Place: People and Places on Route 74
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Margaret A. Bauernfeind
(651) 565-2335
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota; John Becker: art business owner; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Northland Words; Julie Fakler: education coordinator at Paradise Center for the Arts; Drue Fergison: linguist and writer; Lee Gundersheimer: theatre artist and director; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician and arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Scott Anderson: musician; Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: arts administrator; Kathy Peterson: playwright; Kathy Rush: thespian; Mary Ruth: artist; Jon Swanson: arts administrator; Gary Tollers: arts administrator.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed