Minnesota's Legacy


Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Lake Benton Opera House, Inc.
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
December 2014
End Date
May 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Yellow Medicine
Yellow Medicine
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our main goal of the project is to increase the energy efficiency of our facility in order to make better use of our funds. Funds that previously would have been spent on utilities can be channeled to projects that will enhance the quality of our productions and help ensure the long-term health of the organization. Data will be collected from the City and the utility companies on our fuel usage in relation to severity of the upcoming season and compare to the same two factors in past years. This data will be presented to the board who will make a decision on how much the project helped and where our next project should be focused.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Our main measurable outcome will be realized over the coming months and years by comparing utility bills to past bills.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Mark Wilmes, Kathy Johnson, Lynn Carpenter, David Norgaard, Kim Fleet, Anne Lichtsinn, Milo Downs, Cheryl Johnson, Caren Petersen, Gail Hovland, Sandy Hanson, Lisa Willert, Carl Burk, Nathaniel Gates, Sirinna Martinez
Project Overview
Project Details
Replace windows, doors, and purchase stage equipment
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Lake Benton Opera House, Inc.
Street Address
120 Benton St E
Lake Benton
Zip Code
(507) 368-4620
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Jane Link: visual artist, Milan Village Arts School founding member, Milan Community Education, Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council Advisory Board; Kate Aydin: retired educator, developed a curriculum focused on the visual arts, literature, and modern and traditional music of Spain and Latin America; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, theater, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasure, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County board; Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts board; Peg Furshong: performing arts administration, Granite Area Arts Council board; Tom Rice: arts advocate, Appleton Æ52 Wing Restoration Committee.