Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Big Stone Arts Council
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
December 2014
End Date
June 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Big Stone
Lac qui Parle
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our goal is to have a clear vision of how our project can support our local artists’ needs, demonstrate connection with youth, seniors, city officials etc., expose residents of the Big Stone Lake area to the beauty, character, and expression the arts instills in imagination and creativity. The primary outcomes of this project are; creation of a building design concept and presentation drawings, the development of an estimated construction budget and a preliminary draft of a business plan. The foundation of these outcomes will be dictated by the vision of our local artists and input from the greater community. Achievements of goals will also be measured by how the project creates the most established impact on the arts community. If by the end of the proposed project imperative information and consultation has been provided to the arts council in which a plan has been established to move forward, we will consider our goal for this project achieved. Evaluation tools include our BSAC Individual Artist Survey and our Connecting with Our Community Process document results of which will be combined in a checklist of data to provide direction to the architect and committee in the design process.

Measurable Outcome(s)

As we have rolled out the design of the building, reactions have been well received. Our benchmarks included classroom space, meeting space for approximate 130 individuals (medium size), office space and art gallery space, all of which the design provides.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Becky Parker, Patty Haukos, Jim Foster, Elaine Gable, Adrienne Stattelman, Rob Rakow, Krista Hartman, Edie Barrett, John Hartman, Liz Rackl, Cal Rackl, Becky Stattelman, Patty Holtquist, John White, Jenna Wiese
Project Overview
Project Details
Architect and Engineering Plan for Big Stone Arts Council building
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Big Stone Arts Council
Street Address
PO Box 42
Zip Code
(320) 760-9491
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Jane Link: visual artist, Milan Village Arts School founding member, Milan Community Education, Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council Advisory Board; Kate Aydin: retired educator, developed a curriculum focused on the visual arts, literature, and modern and traditional music of Spain and Latin America; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, theater, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasure, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County board; Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts board; Peg Furshong: performing arts administration, Granite Area Arts Council board; Tom Rice: arts advocate, Appleton Æ52 Wing Restoration Committee.
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Greta Murray (507) 537-1471