Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Blue Mound Area Theatre
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2017
End Date
December 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

One goal of this grant is to support artists performing at The Palace Theatre in Luverne, Minnesota to create, produce and present high quality arts activities. We will do this by providing artists with microphones that strengthen their ability to communicate with the audience, and offer sound and media players which augment and enrich their performances. Another goal is to have an organizational structure which supports artists in these endeavors and facilitates access to, and enjoyment of, the arts by our patrons. Our project will be successful when we are able to; 1) fit performers with working microphones which suit them; 2) have sufficient microphones for production needs; 3) have a consistently working sound system which will play all styles of discs; 4) have a working laptop in the sound booth with the capability for presenters to manage their multi-media programs from the stage; 5) have a functioning computer in our office which can accommodate Palace business files and can be used for box office purposes; 6) have the capability of electronic transactions at each location where items are sold with secured equipment. We will measure success of this project in a number of ways. We will interview our technology subcommittee, consultants and system users regarding their perception of improvements with our new equipment. Following our summer children's theater production and our fall Green Earth Players production we will interview actors, sound technicians and directors regarding their perception of improvement in our microphones and sound system. When we have electronic transactions available at every point of sale, we will compare the number of transactions 6 months prior and 6 months after the onset of use. The improvement in the business computer will be assessed through subjective assessment of the box office staff.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Technicians working with the new equipment were queried regarding their opinions of the products and the improvements. Actor and audience feedback was informally obtained regarding the sound quality and performance. All are very pleased with our new equipment. Positive patron feedback is beginning to trickle in about on-line ticketing. Our treasurer assessed the use of credit card sales with our square stands and usage is steadily increasing. Office staff, as well as members of the board's executive committee have been very pleased with the updates in computer equipment.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Dianne Ossenfort, Louella Voigt, Heidi Sehr, LaDonna VanAartsen, Verlyn Vanbatavia, Mark VanAartsen, Deb Aanenson, Jim Juhl, Shirley Connor, Eugene Marshall, Bill Stegemann, Molly Carbonneau
Project Overview


Project Details

Technology: Sound Equipment and Computers

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Blue Mound Area Theatre
Street Address
912 Cedar St N
Zip Code
(507) 283-9237
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art educator, visual artist, Tyler Arts Council, Lincoln County Art Fair, South Dakota Arts Educators Association, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwest Minnesota State University Associate Director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Lisa Bergh: Visual arts, arts administration; Tammy Grubbs: Visual, theatre; Maureen Keimig: Theatre; Brett Lehman: Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Paula Nemes: Theatre, music; Janey Olney: Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed