Community Arts Education Support

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Lake Superior Youth Chorus, Inc. AKA Lake Superior Youth Chorus
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
January 2018
End Date
December 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
St. Louis
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Strengthen and expand current programming to celebrate our 25th anniversary season. We have new performance/learning opportunities during the 2017-2018 season, and will track the effect of these changes on our ability to increase sequential learning through greater singer retention. 2: Increase technological efficiencies of the organization and dedicated staff positions to expand community visibility and increase funding. Through our new contact database, we will track the growth in funding and electronic outreach. We will also hire an office intern to focus on social media and marketing. Plans for executive director.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Community Arts Education Support

Project Details

Lake Superior Youth Chorus cultivates an active and inclusive community of young choral artists, centered on a holistic music education.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Lake Superior Youth Chorus, Inc. AKA Lake Superior Youth Chorus
Street Address
PO Box 3337
Zip Code
(612) 390-3698
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Officer at -Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Mayor of Red Wing, elected 2016. Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies.; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Vicki Chepulis: Cofounder and former executive director, Trollwood Performing Arts School, Fargo-Moorhead; board member, New York Mills Regional Cultural Center; executive committee member, Rural Arts and Culture Summit; Joanna Cortright: Independent arts education consultant; Alison Good: Former commercial artist, educator and administrator; active community volunteer; Alyssa Melby: Executive director, Northfield Arts guild; Jamie Schwaba: Managing director, Minnesota Conservatory for the Arts at Saint Mary's University of Minnesota; Gregory Smith: Business operations manager, the Fitzgerald Theater

Conflict of Interest Disclosed