Community Arts

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
City of Blaine
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
Start Date
December 2016
End Date
May 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

2000 attendees will gain knowledge and exposure to 10 different cultures represented in the Blaine community. Evaluation will be based on attendance count, audience survey, and audience informal feedback.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Blaine World Fest 2017 reached an attendance of 550. We had 18 cultural and informational booths, and 7 ethnic food trucks. We promoted composting at this event and only had one bag of garbage. We had 30 volunteers help implement the event.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Shari Kunza, Nate Monahan, Steve Poreda, Mary Jo Truchon, Sursatti Persaud, Pete Yelle, Jun Li, Brian Bohne
Project Overview

Community Arts

Project Details

Blaine World Fest Funding for the 10th annual Blaine World Fest, a public event exploring the cultural arts and ethnicities that currently exist in the city. The event will take place in May 2017.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
City of Blaine
Street Address
10801 Town Square Dr
Zip Code
(763) 717-2723
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Julie Andersen: Eagan Art House Executive Director; Bethany Brunsell: Music teacher, performer; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits Operations Director; Marisol Chiclana-Ayla: Artist, Board Chair at El Arco Iris; Jamil Jude: Theatre artist; Tricia Khutoretsky: Public Functionary Curator and Co-Director; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy Executive Director; Dayna Martinez: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts; Coleen McLaughlin: Arts Midwest Director of External Relations; Tom Moffatt: Silverwood Park Supervisor; Osman Mohamed Ali: Somali Museum of Minnesota Founder and Executive Director; Kathy Mouacheupao: Twin Cities Local Initiatives Support, Corporation Cultural Corridor Coordinator; Adam Napoli-Rangel: Artist; Heather Rutledge: ArtReach Saint Croix Executive Director; Djenane Saint Juste: Afoutayi Dance Company Founder; Andrea Sjogren: Hopkins Public Schools Youth Programs Coordinator; Dameun Strange: Composer, Performer; Melissa Wright: Twin Cities Public Television.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Mary Jo Lewis: Artistic, administration; Nancy Anderson: Administration; Mary Beth King: Artistic, organizational development, administration; Sarah Wiechmann: Education, community education, youth programming; Tim Cooper: Artistic, computer systems, finance; Mandy Meisner: Audience development, artistic, fundraising; Sue Morgan: Artistic, volunteerism; Jeff Ambroz: Artistic, fundraising, administration; Florence Brammer: Administration.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed