Minnesota's Legacy

Community Arts

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Watertown-Mayer Community Education
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
April 2012
End Date
October 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To provide a vehicle for youth to explore their creativity and study all aspects of theater; to develop leadership, self-esteem, discipline, and cooperation in participants; to foster global consciousness and critical thinking; to contribute to the growth of cultural and art appreciation in the community.Feedback from teaching professionals and artists; feedback from participants and parents.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Parents raved about the enriching opportunity for their children and teachers felt they had successfully aided in the growth of the community.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Helen Waldock, Joyce Peterson, Tamie Kugler, Tamie Kuntz, Cara Sandquist, Lori Sieling, Paul Pearson, Charlie Wild
Project Overview
Youth Summer Theater program
Project Details
Funding for a six to eight-week Youth Summer Theater program featuring an original script and musical score. The program will take place at the Watertown-Mayer Primary School auditorium and will culminate with three public performances in August 2012.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Watertown-Mayer Community Education
Street Address
313 Angel Ave NW
Zip Code
(952) 955-0285
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Emily Foxen: Events Coordinator, Weisman Art Museum; Julie Kuenzel: Community Education, District 108; Larry Pint: New Prague Arts Council; Bob Thomas: Chaska Valley Theater; Mary Jo Truchon: Blaine Arts Council; Justine Pearson: Intern, Minnesota Public Radio; Jeanne Schwartz: Rosemount Area Arts Council; Kay Augustine: Director of Arts Education, Iowa Arts Council.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed