Community Arts

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Edge of the Big Woods Art Wander
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
April 2012
End Date
October 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To showcase artists in Carver county to new audiences; to spread knowledge and skills to audiences; to build awareness of arts in Carver County; to form a strong network of artists.Board and committee member feedback; feedback from participating artists.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Tour of 17 artist's studios; 37 artists participated; over 800 audience; two local newspapers added arts calendars to their publication.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Ben Banks, Jane Ask Bodahl, Michelle Eggan, Jennifer Ionta, Carl Melichar, Cathy Menssen, Yohan York, Nancy Anderson, Pam Braunwarth, Clark Machtemes, Jon Schmidt, Rhonda Tesch, Mary Erickson, Barb Hone
Project Overview
Edge of the Big Woods Art Wander
Project Details
Funding for the Edge of the Big Woods Art Wander, a self-guided arts tour featuring 40 artists and 20 working studios. The Art Wander will take place throughout western Carver County in September 2012.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Edge of the Big Woods Art Wander
Street Address
4610 Hwy 25
Zip Code
(952) 955-3493
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Emily Foxen: Events Coordinator, Weisman Art Museum; Julie Kuenzel: Community Education, District 108; Larry Pint: New Prague Arts Council; Bob Thomas: Chaska Valley Theater; Mary Jo Truchon: Blaine Arts Council; Justine Pearson: Intern, Minnesota Public Radio; Jeanne Schwartz: Rosemount Area Arts Council; Kay Augustine: Director of Arts Education, Iowa Arts Council.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed