Community Arts

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Blaine Parks and Recreation
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
Start Date
March 2012
End Date
October 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To promote awareness and understanding of various cultures; to reflect and celebrate the changing population of Blaine.Audience evaluation forms; staff and participating artist feedback.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Over 1300 attendees experienced arts and cultural offerings from 12 participating organizations and 8 diverse performance groups.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Tom Godfrey, Sherenia Gibbs, Albert Nyembwe, Mary Jasicki, Nate Monahan, Jim Kappelhoff, Jerome Krieger, Mary Jo Truchon, Jesse Dubuque
Project Overview
Blaine World Fest Celebration
Project Details
Funding for the fifth annual Blaine World Fest Celebration, a public event exploring the cultural arts and ethnicities that currently exist in the city. The event will take place in September 2012.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Blaine Parks and Recreation
Street Address
10801 Town Square Dr
Zip Code
(763) 717-2723
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Emily Foxen: Events Coordinator, Weisman Art Museum; Julie Kuenzel: Community Education, District 108; Larry Pint: New Prague Arts Council; Bob Thomas: Chaska Valley Theater; Mary Jo Truchon: Blaine Arts Council; Justine Pearson: Intern, Minnesota Public Radio; Jeanne Schwartz: Rosemount Area Arts Council; Kay Augustine: Director of Arts Education, Iowa Arts Council.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed