Community Arts

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Banfill-Locke Center for the Arts
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
April 2012
End Date
September 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To bring people together to celebrate and participate in the arts; to continue to develop broader audiences for art programming throughout Anoka County.Discussion of the Festival Committee; email feedback will be encouraged by all participants, including artists and volunteers; interest in participation by local businesses and community partners.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Both audiences and emerging and established artists were thrilled with the opportunity to simultaneously engage in arts and their community.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Ann Bolkcom, Chris Spencer, Anne Coldwell, Elna Goodspeed, Lois Johnson, Todd Olin, J Diane Savage, Joyce Schmidt, Lois Scholzen, Sue Silber, Peter Stein, Ulrike Thomas, Mary Jo Truchon, Catherine Vesley, Karen Wallach, Joyce VanderWyst, Lia Rivamonte, Je
Project Overview
Art at Rice Creek
Project Details
Funding for Art at Rice Creek, a free arts festival on the banks of Rice Creek and the Mississippi River in Anoka County. The daylong festival will feature visual, literary, and performance art experiences and will take place in September 2012.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Banfill-Locke Center for the Arts
Street Address
6666 E River Rd
Zip Code
(763) 574-1850
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Emily Foxen: Events Coordinator, Weisman Art Museum; Julie Kuenzel: Community Education, District 108; Larry Pint: New Prague Arts Council; Bob Thomas: Chaska Valley Theater; Mary Jo Truchon: Blaine Arts Council; Justine Pearson: Intern, Minnesota Public Radio; Jeanne Schwartz: Rosemount Area Arts Council; Kay Augustine: Director of Arts Education, Iowa Arts Council.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed