Community Arts

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Central Public Schools
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
May 2012
End Date
August 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To increase appreciation of the arts and introduce community members to new artistic experience.Surveys of artists, performers, audiences; tracking audience numbers.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Audiences revealed that regardless of their knowledge of classical music, this experience was both captivating and accessible.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Randy Kuenzel, Renee Garfunkel, Betsy Pysick, Julie Timm, Elroy Latzig, Amy Reather, Mike McPadden, Julie Kuenzel, Michelle Luskey, Lora Willems, Julie Karnes, Tina Diedrick
Project Overview
Music in the Park series
Project Details
Funding for a Music in the Park series of eight performances on Thursday evenings in Norwood Young America during summer 2012.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Central Public Schools
Street Address
318 W Hwy 212
Norwood Young America
Zip Code
(952) 467-7391
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Emily Clary: Director, Dakota County Sheriff's Department; Bob Graff: Theatre designer and arts administrator, Dakota Fine Arts Consortium; Yumi Inomata: Arts Midwest staff; Mary Beth King: Board member, Dakota Fine Arts Consortium; Mary Jo Lewis: Executive Director, Harmonic Relief; Lorrie Link: Executive Director, Maple Grove Arts Center; Connie Martin: Minneapolis Pops Orchestra; Kathy Mattson: Arts administrator, Jordan Arts Festival; Naomi Russell: Arts administrator, Barn Quilts of Carver County.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed