Community Arts

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Velvet Tones
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
January 2012
End Date
August 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To expand choir's repertoire and musical ability, and to diversify audiences reached.Choir member surveys, audience feedback, director's assessment.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Choir members reported that the concert was both challenging and rewarding and audience feedback showed that a broader range of communities were reached.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Dave Sibinski, Maynard Ohm, Ellen Mae Brezina, Bill Hlavac, Bob Novak, Merlyn Jeche, Dan Melander
Project Overview
Community Arts
Project Details
Funding for nine vocal performances for groups with limited arts access. Performances will take place in the greater metropolitan area between February and June 2012.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Velvet Tones
Street Address
15919 Harwell Ave
Apple Valley
Zip Code
(952) 432-1081
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Emily Clary: Director, Dakota County Sheriff's Department; Bob Graff: Theatre designer and arts administrator, Dakota Fine Arts Consortium; Yumi Inomata: Arts Midwest staff; Mary Beth King: Board member, Dakota Fine Arts Consortium; Mary Jo Lewis: Executive Director, Harmonic Relief; Lorrie Link: Executive Director, Maple Grove Arts Center; Connie Martin: Minneapolis Pops Orchestra; Kathy Mattson: Arts administrator, Jordan Arts Festival; Naomi Russell: Arts administrator, Barn Quilts of Carver County.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed