Community Arts

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Minneapolis Southside Singers
Start Date
January 2012
End Date
December 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Audiences at assisted living, public housing, nursing center, and senior centers have opportunities to experience live vocal performances.Audience and participant surveys; number of venues that are booking performances.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Presented 42 free performances for under-served audiences at venues such as the Minnesota Veteran's Home, Seward Longfellow Healthy Seniors, subisidized housing facilities, the American Legion, and other locations.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Bill Luerke, Clarice Johnson, Liz Kolstad, Joanne Hart, Mary Cowden, Betty Edlund, Bonnie Carleen, Joan Klopp, ROsella Mulcahy, Ruth Bartko, Marian Hatlestad
Project Overview
Community Arts
Project Details
Funding to present 20 free concerts to under-served audiences across the seven-county metropolitan area during the 2012 calendar year.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Minneapolis Southside Singers
Street Address
Minneapolis Community Education 4029 28th Ave S
Zip Code
(612) 668-4828
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Scott Chamberlain: Musician and arts administrator, One Voice Mixed Chorus; Ellen Draeger: Musician and arts administrator, Lutheran Music Program; Jennifer Ilse: Co-artistic director, OffLeash Area dance and theater company; Alecia Leonard: Community education administrator and youth programming specialist; Mike Mason: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts staff; Dawn Ridgway: Dance performer and educator and arts administrator; Becky Ten Brink: Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra staff.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed