Community Arts

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
International Festival of Burnsville
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
January 2012
End Date
August 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Cultural Heritage

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Create meaningful connections with diverse populations and incorporate diverse populations into community celebrations.Surveys of audiences, vendors, committee members.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The relationships and connections between diverse populations within these communities has been enriched and the people who live there now appreciate the diversity around them.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Margo Swanson, Maroof Rauf, Bahgat Elsagher, Julie Dorshak, Debra Strahler, Elizabeth Kautz, Len Nachman, David Fong, Carlos Lopez, Rosamaria Peralta, Sandra Schlaefer, Steve Juve, Sandy Sweep, Raj Menon, Sophia Sour, Suleka Burale, Naima Farah, Meg Hesch
Project Overview

International Festival of Burnsville

Project Details

Funding for the International Festival of Burnsville featuring cultural displays of art, traditional dress, ethnic foods, and music and dance performances. The festival will be held at Nicollet Commons Park and the Burnsville Performing Arts Center in June 2012.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
International Festival of Burnsville
Street Address
100 Civic Center Pkwy
Zip Code
(952) 895-4509
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Emily Clary: Director, Dakota County Sheriff's Department; Bob Graff: Theatre designer and arts administrator, Dakota Fine Arts Consortium; Yumi Inomata: Arts Midwest staff; Mary Beth King: Board member, Dakota Fine Arts Consortium; Mary Jo Lewis: Executive Director, Harmonic Relief; Lorrie Link: Executive Director, Maple Grove Arts Center; Connie Martin: Minneapolis Pops Orchestra; Kathy Mattson: Arts administrator, Jordan Arts Festival; Naomi Russell: Arts administrator, Barn Quilts of Carver County.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Jill Anfang: City of Roseville assistant parks and recreation director; Heather Beal: free-lance architectural writer; Melissa Brechon: retired Carver County Library system director; Kathy Busch: realtor, Shakopee School Board member; Shelly Chamberlain: Minnesota Council of Nonprofits director of operations and human resources; Paul Creager: Gordon Parks High School teacher and administrator, Square Lake Film Festival director; Erika Eklund: Playwrights'Center director of external relations; Joan Elwell: Lakeshore Players Community Theatre Managing Director; Kristi Gaudette: Prior Lake-Savage school district program specialist; Peter Leggett: Walker West Music Academy executive director; Christine Murakami Noonan: Minnesota State Fair Foundation Project Manager; Rachel Smoka-Richardson: Childrens Theatre Company director of institutional giving; Margaret Rog: free-lance grant writer and organizational development consultant; Beth Starbuck: retired consultant; Dameun Strange: free-lance musician and composer; Melissa Wright: William Mitchell College of Law assistant director of Career and Professional Development.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed