Burnside School Site: Plant Use and Chronology of an Oneota Village Near Red Wing

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Science Museum of Minnesota
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
In Progress
Start Date
March 2015
End Date
March 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
To hire a qualified archaeologist to conduct an inventory of archaeological plant remains from an Oneota village near Red Wing.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Minnesota Historical Society Governing Board: William R. Stoeri, President Missy S. Thompson, Vice President Ruth Huss, Vice President D. Stephen Elliott, Secretary Dean M. Nelson, Treasurer Suzanne Blue Brenda J. Child Robert Bruininks Judith S. Corson D. Stephen Elliott Phyllis Rawls Goff William D. Green David R. Hakensen Ruth S. Huss Martha Kaemmer Dennis L. Lamkin David M. Larson Charles Mahar Dean M. Nelson Elizabeth M. Nordlie Dennis Nguyen Peter R. Reis Hussein Samatar Simon Stevens Susan Kenny Stevens William R. Stoeri Karen Wilson Thissen Missy Staples Thompson Eleanor Winston Ex-Officio: Mark Dayton, Governor Yvonne Prattner Solon Lieutenant Governor Mark Ritchie, Secretary of State Lori Swanson, Attorney General Rebecca Otto, State Auditor
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota for 2011 Chapter 6, Article 4, Subdivision 5, Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants.
Appropriation Language

Statewide Historic and Cultural Grants. $5,250,000 the first year and $5,250,000 the second year are for history programs and projects operated or conducted by or through local, county, regional, or other historical or cultural organizations; or for activities to preserve significant historic and cultural resources.

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Available upon request. Contact

Description of Funds
Available upon request. Contact
Source of Additional Funds

Available upon request. Contact

Recipient Board Members
Andrea M. Walsh (Chair), Ann B. Parriott (Vice Chair), Steven J. Proeschel (Vice Chair/Treasurer), Ronald L. Christenson (Secretary), Eric J. Jolly PhD (Ex-Officio), Ellis F. Bullock Jr, Mark Chronister, Gary L. Ellis, Jonathan B. Farber, William A. Jonason, Jamil A. Ghani, George J. Kehl, Scott V. Lindemann, Pamela J. Moret, Peter J. Olin, Margaret J. Paddock, Bryan K. Phillips, Judy M. Poferl, James J. Seifert, Todd Soller, William J. Sweasy, Jean M. Taylor, Richard G. Trembley, Dr. Michael G. Vale, Theresa M. H. Wise
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Science Museum of Minnesota
Street Address
120 W Kellogg Blvd
St. Paul
Zip Code
Administered By
Administered by

345 W. Kellogg Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155