Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
The History Theatre, Inc. AKA History Theatre
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
June 2017
End Date
May 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Lac qui Parle
Lac qui Parle
Project Overview

Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details

History Theatre will tour Sweet Land the musical to six communities. Adapted from the feature film, Sweet Land by Ali Selim and short story by Will Weaver, the play is a celebration of love, land, and the immigrant experience in the wake of World War I.

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Officer at Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary?s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Ceramic artist. former executive director of the Minnesota Project.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Sh? Bailey: Performer, writer, and creator of new work in theater, visual arts, and film; Steven Downing: Writer, retired arts administrator; Ann Erickson: Associate director, Minnesota Fringe Festival; Janis Lane-Ewart: Long-time arts administrator and consultant; development officer at KBEM Jazz88; Noelle Lawton: Executive director, Twin Rivers Council for the Arts; Kathleen McTavish: Composer and media artist; Sara Pillatzki-Warzeha: Freelance director, actor and theater educator

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To expand visibility and awareness of History Theatre while presenting a musical play with relevance to Minnesotans and the Midwest. Work with staff and volunteers at each venue to determine audience totals and survey whether attendees had previously heard of or seen a History Theatre show. 2: To present meaningful and relevant theater performances to Minnesotans of all ages. Through attendance totals, surveys and audience response to the musical and outreach activities including Q and A sessions; participatory `wall of memories` and other activities.

Measurable Outcome(s)

History Theatre successfully toured SWEET LAND THE MUSICAL in June-October 2017, visiting seven greater Minnesota communities, and engaging 3424 audience members. History Theatre determined 3424 total attendance for all shows and outreach activities. 135 patrons reported through surveys never having heard of History Theatre, and an additional 73 never attended a History Theatre performance. 2: 3424 Minnesotans, including 170 youth, were presented meaningful and relevant theatre through History Theatre's tour of SWEET LAND THE MUSICAL. Q and As were held with audience members post-show. Local Historical Societies helped created exhibits of artifacts from the time period. Participants reported learning how modern immigrants might feel based on Inga's story in the play.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Gene Merriam, John Sebastian, Tyler Zehring, Roger Brooks, John Apitz, Candace Campbell, George Dow, Wayne Hamilton, Michele Helgen, Jillian, Hoffman, Susan Kimberly, Gene Link, Ixchele Mckinnie, Cheryl L. Moore, Jeffrey Peterson, Ken Peterson, James Rollwagen,Charles A. Slocum, Pondie Nicholson Taylor
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
The History Theatre, Inc. AKA History Theatre
Street Address
30 10th St E
St Paul
Zip Code
(651) 292-4321
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency