Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
June 2017
End Date
May 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Otter Tail
St. Louis
Otter Tail
St. Louis
Project Overview

Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details

The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library will collaborate with libraries and literary presses across the state to present an innovative touring program featuring Minnesota Book Award winners.

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Officer at Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary?s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Ceramic artist. former executive director of the Minnesota Project.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Bradley Bourn: Executive director, Lyndale Neighborhood Association; former managing director, Ten Thousand Things Theater; Leslie Hanlon: Director of fundraising and marketing, College of Saint Benedict and Saint John?s University fine arts series; Tamra Jo Makram: Managing director of Memorial Auditorium Performing Arts Center, Worthington; Natalie Nowytski: Vocalist, composer and performer of international folk music; Kathleen Ray: Former executive director, Central Square Cultural and Civic Center; theater artist and playwright; Quillan Roe: Manager and artistic director, Roe Family Singers; Douglas Scholz-Carlson: Artistic director, Great River Shakespeare Festival; Jacinta Zens: Independent arts organizer; member of Moorhead Arts and Cultural Commission

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Executive director Sue Gens (651) 215-1600

Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Author tours will increase awareness of and access to work written by Minnesotans and/or created by Minnesota publishers. Email and paper surveys from attendees and partners, both at and after events; library circulation numbers. 2: Increase engagement between the readers and writers in the state through innovative programming. Email and paper surveys from attendees and participants, both at and after events.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Nearly all of attendees surveyed agreed that the Minnesota Book Award author tours introduced them to new authors and works by Minnesotans. Paper surveys at the events asked attendees whether the event exposed them to writers who were new to them. They were also asked whether they were more likely to search out books written by Minnesotan writers as a result of this program. 2: A majority of attendees indicated they had more understanding of Minnesota literature and felt more connected to their community as a result of the program. Event surveys asked if the program increased attendees' understanding of Minnesota Literature and the writing process, and if the events made them feel more connected to their community.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Heather Anfang, Joseph T. Bagnoli, Sthitie E. Bom, Cathy Paper, James Bradshaw, Kathy Brown, Dana Bruce, Scott Burns, Kathleen R. Callahan, Armando Camacho, Richard Carlbom, Melvin Carter, Tetra Constantino, Jay Cowles, Paul M. Dadlez, Ted Davis, Kate Dienhart, Kimberly Ditter, Jill Droubie, Paul Dzubnar, Jeanette Frederickson, Gordon Goodwin, Patrick Harris, Courtney Henry, Sia Her, Paul Hirschboeck, John Huss, Sharyle Knutson, Donna Allan, Bridget Manahan, Greg Mazanec, Melanie McMahon, Daud Mohamed, Todd S. Nicholson, Jean O'Connell, Col. Kevin Olson, Dan Prokott, Mary Rothchild, Ty R. Silberhorn, Elona Street-Stewart, Mark Taylor, Matt Tempelis, James V. Toscano, Tom Votel, Annette M. Whaley, Charles H. Williams Jr., Chuck Wright, Mike Zipko
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library
Street Address
1080 Montreal Ave Ste 2
St Paul
Zip Code
(651) 222-3242
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency