Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Minnesota State University-Mankato AKA Good Thunder Reading Series
Recipient Type
State Government
Start Date
June 2015
End Date
May 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Blue Earth
Le Sueur
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Audiences have an increased understanding of the writing process. We will distribute hard-copy surveys that ask audiences to rate the impact attending craft talks/workshops had on their level of understanding. 2: Increase awareness of literature’s scope by providing audiences in southern Minnesota with access to writers from diverse backgrounds/literary traditions. We will solicit interviews from audience members to learn the impact readings have on increasing awareness of literature’s scope. We will also post online surveys for each reading.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Audiences had an increased and/or enhanced of the writing process. Hard copy surveys were distributed after each workshop and craft talk. Participants rated the event's overall quality; the level workshops inspired their creativity; and their level of understanding of the writing process before and after attending craft talks. Surveys gathered data about audience demographics; headcounts measured the number of Minnesotans who received a high quality arts experience. 2: Audiences increased their awareness of literature's scope. Hard copy surveys were distributed after each reading. Participants rated the event's overall quality and the level the event increased and/or enhanced their awareness of literature's diverse voices and literary traditions; the level at which readings engage audiences in an important art form. Surveys provided audience demographics; headcounts, the number of Minnesotans who received a high quality arts experience; interviews, insight into attendees' experience.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Matthew Sewell, Wilbur Frink, Jorge Evans, Jacque Arnold, Jennifer Veltsos
Project Overview
Arts Tour Minnesota
Project Details
The Good Thunder Reading Series will promote literature and inspire creativity by bringing seven writers from diverse backgrounds and literary traditions to Mankato, to participate in a series of readings, talks, and workshops.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Minnesota State University-Mankato AKA Good Thunder Reading Series
Street Address
230 Armstrong Hall
Zip Code
(507) 389-5144
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Luanne Fondell: Performing arts director, Memorial Auditorium, Dawson-Boyd School District; Katherine Hill: Audience engagement specialist, Minneapolis Institute of Arts; Anna Johnson: Independent arts administrator and consultant, specializing in the area of development; Ronald Lattin: Development director, Youth Performance Company; Kathleen Ray: Former executive director, Central Square Cultural and Civic Center, theater artist and playwright; Pearl Rea: Production manager, lighting designer, stage manager, and tour coordinator; S Buffy Sedlachek: Producer of excellence in performance, CLIMB Theatre, educator peer coach and instructor, Bethel University
Conflict of Interest Disclosed