Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
The Minnesota Opera AKA Minnesota Opera
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2015
End Date
May 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Crow Wing
St. Louis
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Increased number of Minnesotans from the Duluth and surrounding areas attending opera through a touring production of Mozart’s The Magic Flute. At the end of the 2015-2016 season, measurement of the number of attendees from Duluth and surrounding communities will be compared against the 2013-2014 baseline of 50 households (zip code SCFs 556-558).

Measurable Outcome(s)

1,200 residents from Duluth and surrounding area, attended performance of The Magic Flute. Opera Insights was held in the lobby prior to performance. Coupon code for future Opera productions was provided to Duluth performance attendees to track tix sales and engagement. The base number of 50 households in Duluth area will be compared to the number of households added to database as result of coupon offer. Data overlay to be completed by May 30, 2016. Education activities undertaken in Hermantown, Duluth area schools, and libraries (not part of funded activities) had reach of 2,439. This was significant enough to become an evaluation metric.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Richard Allendorf, Patricia Beithon, Karen Brooks, Bernard Brunsman, Jane M. Confer, Sara Donaldson, Sidney W. Emery, Maureen Harms, Sharon Hawkins, Ruth S. Huss, Mary Ingebrand-Pohlad, Philip Isaacson, James Johnson, Patricia Johnson ,John C. Junek, Christine Larsen , Cynthia Y. Lee, Robert Lee, Leni Moore, Albin Jim Nelson, Kay Ness, Jose Peris, Elizabeth Redleaf, Connie Remele, Don Romanaggi, Christopher Romans, Mary H. Schrock, Linda Roberts Singh, Nadege Souvenir, David Strauss, Virginia Stringer, H. Bernt von Ohlen, Margaret Wurtele, Karen Bachman, John A. Blanchard III, Burton Cohen, Julia W. Dayton, Mary W. Vaughan
Project Overview
Arts Tour Minnesota
Project Details
Minnesota Opera will partner with the Duluth Entertainment Convention Center to present a fully staged and costumed performance of Mozart’s The Magic Flute, which incorporates 21st century technology and features live performers interacting with larger-than-life animation, at low cost to residents of Duluth and surrounding areas.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
The Minnesota Opera AKA Minnesota Opera
Street Address
620 1st St N
(612) 333-2700
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Kaitlyn Bohlin: Development manager, North House Folk School; Brenda Brown: Member, Black Storytellers Alliance, Blues City Cultural Center, Minneapolis Arts Commission. Writer, performer, and visual artist.; Jennie Knoebel: Executive director, Austin Area Commission for the Arts; Ann Reed: Singer, guitarist and songwriter, co-owner of Turtlecub Productions; John Saurer: Visual artist using sculpture, printmaking and drawing, chair, art and art history department, Saint Olaf College; Melissa Walrath: Executive director, The St. John's Boys' Choir; Jeanne Willcoxon: Assistant professor of theater, St Olaf College.; Alexander Wolff: Trombonist and executive director of operations, The Copper Street Brass Quintet
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Executive director Sue Gens (651) 215-1600