Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2014
End Date
February 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Otter Tail
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Zeitgeist will bring two high-quality, engaging musical productions created and performed by Minnesota artists to five communities in greater Minnesota. Artists and audiences indicate through discussions and surveys that our MINNESOTA CONNECTIONS productions were engaging and musically satisfying. 2: Zeitgeist positively engages audiences in four communities new to the ensemble through two high-quality chamber music productions. Both presenters and audiences indicate a positive experience with our performance and a willingness to engage with us again.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Zeitgeist brought For the Birds and Summer Rain to six communities in greater Minnesota. 2: Zeitgeist performed for audiences in four communities new to the ensemble.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Craig Sinard, Pat O'Keefe, Heather Barringer, Philip Blackburn, Julie Haight-Curran, Carrie Henneman Shaw, Brett Wartchow, Chris Campbell, Sarah Porwoll-Lee
Project Overview
Arts Tour Minnesota
Project Details
Zeitgeist will tour six communities with its Minnesota Connections 2014-2015 program featuring its productions For the Birds with Victor Zupanc and Kevin Kling; and Summer Rain, with composer/veena virtuoso Nirmala Rajasekar.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Street Address
275 E 4th St Ste 200
St Paul
Zip Code
(651) 755-1600
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthopist.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; David Glenn, Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jessica Frost: Program Director, North House Folk School; Robin Gillette: Arts Administrator, Minnesota Fringe Festival; Jane Gudmundson: Freelance consultation, education and the arts; George Keller: Performer, Producer, Educator; Katherine Milton: Independent instructional designer and arts administrator; board member, Minnesota State University Design Council; Natalie Morrow: Founder of The Twin Cities Black Film Festival; Elizabeth Mowry: Community engagement coordinator, Juxtaposition Arts; Douglas Scholz-Carlson: Artistic director, Great River Shakespeare Festival; Lisa Vesel: Executive director, Minnesota Discovery Center
Conflict of Interest Disclosed