Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
John S. Munson
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2014
End Date
February 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

This project will provide funding to bring The New Standards to outstate communities who previously were unable to afford our show. This outcome will be achieved automatically through receipt of the grant funding. I have solid commitments from eight rural Minnesota communities who are prepared to go to contract immediately after the grant announcements are made. 2: We will achieve this project outcome because six brand new communities to our touring schedule are committed to bringing us into their 2014-2015 season. This is also easily evaluated, since it is a fact that these communities are brand new to The New Standards' touring schedule. We look forward to expanding our touring and introducing our music to new fans.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The funding provided by this project allowed venues throughout Minnesota to present concerts by The New Standards, which for smaller, outstate venues had previously been cost-prohibitive. The New Standards toured to six venues in outstate Minnesota communities where they had not performed previously.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview
Arts Tour Minnesota
Project Details
John Munson, and his artistic partners in The New Standards, will tour greater Minnesota and perform public concerts in three communities, a concert and an outreach program in four communities, and the New Standards Holiday Show in Rochester.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
John S. Munson
(612) 801-8653
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthopist.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; David Glenn, Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Jeffery Amundson: Executive Director, Rochester Symphony Orchestra and Chorale; Christopher Atkins: Coordinator, Minnesota Artists Exhibition Program, Minneapolis Institute of Arts; Sharon Bailey: Artist, Arts Administrator; Tania Blanich: Executive Director, Rourke Art Gallery Museum; Molly Chase: Managing director, Springboard for the Arts; board member and managing director, HUGE Improv Theater; Elisabeth Comeaux: Fundraiser / development manager, Minnesota Opera; Vanessa Healey: Production Stage Manager and Performing Arts Manager, Interact Center for the Visual and Performing Arts; performing arts, production and arts administration; Rebecca Petersen: Executive director, Duluth Superior Symphony Orchestra; Luverne Seifert: Head of BA Performance, Department of Theater Arts and Dance, University of Minnesota. Co-founder of Sod House Theater Company.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed