Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
The Cedar Cultural Center, Inc. AKA The Cedar
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2014
End Date
February 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
St. Louis
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Five Minnesota artists will present their pieces that were commissioned by The Cedar in six communities throughout Minnesota. This outcome will be evaluated based on the successful completion of presenting Cedar-commissioned work in multiple communities and feedback from those communities in the form of follow-up meetings, surveys, and short video interviews. 2: Five Twin Cities-based artists will visit communities outside of the Metro Area to present to new audiences as determined by their geography. We will log number of people reached as determined by ticket sales and those gathered at pop-up performances. Feedback from audience members will indicate if the performances were perceived as high quality and whether they provided a new experience.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Five Minnesota artists adapted previously commissioned works through new collaborations and spent 10 days performing in six Minnesota communities. 2: MN Express performed concerts for new audiences in five communities outside of the Metro Area: Austin, Grand Rapids, Duluth, Morris, and Northfield.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Abdirizak Bihi, Sarah Bowman, Michelle Courtright, David Edminster, Everett Forte, Glen Helgeson, Galen Hersey, Steve Katz, Cari Nesje, Rob Nordin, Jeff Potter, Hugh Pruitt, Rob Salmon, Chuck Tatsuda, Mary Laurel True, Robert Simonds
Project Overview

Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details

MN Express is a bus of five musicians, all former participants of the Cedar's 416 Club Commissions Program, touring the state to perform scheduled, ticketed public concerts and impromptu pop-up gigs in and around schools, town squares, and other public spaces.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
The Cedar Cultural Center, Inc. AKA The Cedar
Street Address
416 Cedar Ave S
Zip Code
(612) 338-2674x 103
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthopist.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; David Glenn, Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Jeffery Amundson: Executive Director, Rochester Symphony Orchestra and Chorale; Christopher Atkins: Coordinator, Minnesota Artists Exhibition Program, Minneapolis Institute of Arts; Sharon Bailey: Artist, Arts Administrator; Tania Blanich: Executive Director, Rourke Art Gallery Museum; Molly Chase: Managing director, Springboard for the Arts; board member and managing director, HUGE Improv Theater; Elisabeth Comeaux: Fundraiser / development manager, Minnesota Opera; Vanessa Healey: Production Stage Manager and Performing Arts Manager, Interact Center for the Visual and Performing Arts; performing arts, production and arts administration; Rebecca Petersen: Executive director, Duluth Superior Symphony Orchestra; Luverne Seifert: Head of BA Performance, Department of Theater Arts and Dance, University of Minnesota. Co-founder of Sod House Theater Company.