Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Winona State University
Recipient Type
State Government
Start Date
April 2012
End Date
March 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
Arts Tour Minnesota
Project Details
This project will bring professional jazz artists of the highest caliber, including the Dave Berkman Quintet, to the Winona region, and will provide college students with one-day jazz performance workshops with the performing artist.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr., Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board., Ardell Brede, Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002., Peggy Burnet, Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Michael Charron, Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies., John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka., Benjamin Klipfel, Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.,Ellen McInnis, Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Pamela Perri, Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota., Margaret Rapp, Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board., Anton Treuer, Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Daniel Adolphson: Director of Program Engagement, COMPAS.; Timothy Cassidy: Metal sculptor.; Larry Fredlund: Board member, Isanti County Planning Commission and Board of Adjustment.; Lawrence Gorrell: Program director, Master of Arts in Human Development and Master of Arts in Arts and Cultural Management, St Mary's University.; Jeanne Kosfeld: Creative director, Ordway Center for the Performing Arts. Exhibition judge, University of Minnesota Landscape Arboretum.; Jessica Lourey: Member of Sisters in Crime, The Loft Literary Center, and Lake Superior Writers. Board member, Mystery Writers of America. Writer and educator.; Ward Merrill: Executive director, Backus Community Center.; Rita Mustaphi: Founder and artistic director, Katha Dance Theatre. Choreographer, dancer, and educator.|Jeanne Willcoxon, Assistant professor of theater, St Olaf College.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

More community and nonprofit organizations become involved in presenting touring artists and arts organizations. Minnesota professional artists and arts organizations have more opportunities to tour their work throughout the state.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Students received close tutoring on jazz musicianship in small workshops, experienced performing with jazz professionals in front of an audience, and spent ‘down time’ with the professional artists learning about touring and the music business. Participating high school band directors filled out a survey rating various elements of the jazz residency/festival from one to 10. They were also asked to include feedback from their students. Questions involved amount of workshop time, rehearsal time, and quality of the guest musicians. All ratings across the board were eight to ten. 2: Students from area high schools and WSU worked closely with professional jazz musicians from New York, and performed with them in public concerts. Students auditioned for the professional musicians and then worked in workshops on various jazz techniques. Band directors from regional high schools participated with their students and filled out surveys.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
MNSCU Board: Cheryl Dickson, Chair Clarence Hightower, Chancellor Steven Rosenstone, Maria Peluso, Ann Anaya, Vice Chair Thomas Renier, Philip Krinkie, Margaret Anderson Kelliher, Louise Sundin, Alfredo Oliviera, David Paskach, Duane Benson, Treasurer Michael Vekich, Brett Anderson, Dawn Erlandson, Alexander Cirillo.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Winona State University
Street Address
175 W Mark St PO Box 5838
Zip Code
(507) 457-2913
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency