Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Illusion Theater and School, Inc. AKA Illusion Theater
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
July 2012
End Date
April 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Otter Tail
Blue Earth
Le Sueur
Crow Wing
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Minnesota professional artists and arts organizations have more opportunities to tour their work throughout the state. Minnesota professional artists and arts organizations tour to communities and regions they haven’t previously visited. More community and nonprofit organizations become involved in presenting touring artists and arts organizations.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Illusion Theater toured BILL W. AND DR. BOB to nine Minnesota communities, completing ten performances. Many of our touring partners were non-traditional presenters who could not have afforded to bring in Illusion without support from Arts Tour Minnesota. We kept accurate records of the sites visited. 2: New sites for Illusion were Mankato, RS Eden House in Ramsey County, and Moorhead. To better facilitate our work with the new sites, the Tour Coordinator spent extra time with each of the new presenters. To evaluate the outcome, the Tour Coordinator kept accurate records of each site visited and each that was new to Illusion. She contacted each sponsor after the event for feedback.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Robert Alama,Dr. Mark Bisignani ,Anthony Bohaty, Willie Bridges,Barbara Brin,Amy Kramer Brenengen, Vivian Martin, James W. Dierking , Doug Frank, Keith Halperin PH.D. ,David L. Hansen ,Christine Hansen, Christina Herzog, Christopher Madel , Bonnie Morris, Danica Natoli , Julia O'Brien (LOA) , Emily Lilja Palmer,Therese Pautz (President) , Jeff Rabkin,Karl Reichert , Michael H. Robins, Sally Scoggin (Past President), Jim Smart ,David Stamps, Susan Thurston (Vice President), Chris Wurtz.
Project Overview
Arts Tour Minnesota
Project Details
Illusion Theater will tour Bill W. and Dr. Bob, IllusionÆs hit production about the founders of Alcoholics Anonymous, to ten Minnesota communities.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Illusion Theater and School, Inc. AKA Illusion Theater
Street Address
528 Hennepin Ave Ste 704
Zip Code
(612) 339-4944x 208
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr., Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board., Ardell Brede, Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002., Peggy Burnet, Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Michael Charron, Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies., John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka., Benjamin Klipfel, Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.,Ellen McInnis, Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Pamela Perri, Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota., Margaret Rapp, Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board., Anton Treuer, Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Lynne Beck: Development director, COMPAS.; Steven Downing: Consultant, Northern Community Radio. School Board member, Northern Lights Community School. Trustee, Northland Foundation. Writer, musician, teacher, and arts administrator.; Stephanie Eichman: Executive director, Minnesota Dance Ensemble.; Jane Gudmundson: Artist and arts educator.; Athena Kildegaard: Lecturer, University of Minnesota Morris.; Jeff Larson: Producing director, Minnesota Fringe Festival.; Alberta Marana: Landscape artist.; Peter Pestalozzi: Board member, Arrowhead Regional Arts Council. Co-owner, Oddessy Design Works. Furniture designer/craftsman.; Kathleen Ray: Executive director, Central Square Cultural and Civic Center. Theater artist and playwright.|Dyani Reynolds-WhiteHawk, Arts project manager, Native American Development Institute. Traditional Lakota and contemporary artist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed