Arts Tour Minnesota

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Friends of the Hopkins Center for the Arts
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
April 2012
End Date
March 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

More community and nonprofit organizations become involved in presenting touring artists and arts organizations.

Measurable Outcome(s)

During the grant period, Hopkins Center for the Arts presented 14 concerts, seven of which were included in the grant project (The Elders, Bruce Henry, Michael Johnson, Quartet San Francisco, Aaron Neville, The Calder Quartet and McCoy Tyner Trio). Altogether, these created a diverse and engaging line up. We had estimated that 3,390 audience members would be served by the seven concerts in the grant project; these actually served 4,079 including many first-time attendees. The grant also made it possible for Quartet San Francisco to hold a master class for orchestra students at Hopkins High School and for The Calder Quartet to hold a master class for students at Mainstreet School of the Performing Arts (Hopkins). We were also able to pilot pre-concert talks (called Musical Notes) to provide context for interested concert goers. Box office reports, Facebook outreach and head counts were used to measure participation, new audience and geographic reach. Our concert series is an ongoing program. Grant funds let us balance local and national touring artists into a high quality series. They also support youth master classes and a new series of pre-concert talks. With your help, the Center brings high quality experiences in the arts to a convenient location at affordable prices. We also work with local social service agencies to provide tickets to people using food shelves, audience members who would not otherwise be able to attend live music events due to economic constraints.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Lucy Arimond, Dr. Stanley H. Brown, Michael Coty, Connie Fullmer, Michael Klement, Mary Jelinek, Pravin Parekh, james F. Skyrms, Susan Weinberg, Sandy Merry (school district rep), John Montilino (Stages Theatre rep), staff (ex officio): Amanda Birnstengel, Lynn Anderson, Jo Clare Hartsig, Janna Johnson, Susan Hanna-Bibus
Project Overview
Arts Tour Minnesota
Project Details
Hopkins Center for the Arts will host seven concert events, enabling it to provide arts experiences of high artistic merit and educational content by noted touring artists, opportunities otherwise not available in the community.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Friends of the Hopkins Center for the Arts
Street Address
1111 Main St
Zip Code
(952) 979-1105
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr., Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board., Ardell Brede, Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002., Peggy Burnet, Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Michael Charron, Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies., John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka., Benjamin Klipfel, Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.,Ellen McInnis, Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board., Pamela Perri, Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota., Margaret Rapp, Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board., Anton Treuer, Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Lynne Beck: Development director, COMPAS.; Steven Downing: Consultant, Northern Community Radio. School Board member, Northern Lights Community School. Trustee, Northland Foundation. Writer, musician, teacher, and arts administrator.; Stephanie Eichman: Executive director, Minnesota Dance Ensemble.; Jane Gudmundson: Artist and arts educator.; Athena Kildegaard: Lecturer, University of Minnesota Morris.; Jeff Larson: Producing director, Minnesota Fringe Festival.; Alberta Marana: Landscape artist.; Peter Pestalozzi: Board member, Arrowhead Regional Arts Council. Co-owner, Oddessy Design Works. Furniture designer/craftsman.; Kathleen Ray: Executive director, Central Square Cultural and Civic Center. Theater artist and playwright.|Dyani Reynolds-WhiteHawk, Arts project manager, Native American Development Institute. Traditional Lakota and contemporary artist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed