Arts in the Schools

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Appleton-Milan Elementary School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
January 2018
End Date
June 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1. Students in the core 4th grade group will explore, learn about, and build dulcimers with the goal being discovering the correlation between science and sound. 2. Students in grade K-3 will be exposed to and be able to explore the vast rhythm instruments that are available today through an instrumental petting zoo. 3. All students and community members will gain a better understanding of the connection between music, sound, and science. After the time with Mr. Sutter is complete, students in the core group will fill out surveys regarding their experiences and discuss the week's happenings with their teachers. Students in grade K-3 will also discuss their experiences as a group with their teachers. An additional survey will be completed by the classroom teachers and community members who attended the performance to glean their feedback and thoughts about the residency.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Arts in the Schools

Project Details

The Science of Sound.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Appleton-Milan Elementary School
Street Address
349 S Edquist St
Zip Code
(320) 289-1114
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor, director, teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art educator, visual artist, Tyler Arts Council, Lincoln County Art Fair, South Dakota Arts Educators Association, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, SMSU Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor SMSU; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice, dance teacher; Dana Conroy: producer, filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Mary Kay Frisvold: Music; Tamara Isfeld: Visual Art, Education; Candace Joens: Music, Theatre; Cindy Demers: Visual, Education; Brett Lehman: SMAC Board; Joyce Meyer: SMAC Board; David KelseyBassett: SMAC Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed