Minnesota's Legacy

Arts in the Schools

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Lac qui Parle Valley School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
April 2017
End Date
May 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Lac qui Parle
Lac qui Parle
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The main goal of this project is to overcome the barrier of poverty to access to the arts and to provide students an opportunity to develop deeper knowledge and understanding of art forms and expressions in their new home culture, as well as other cultures around the world. English Learners will be able to explore artistic expression from around the world, as well as learn about the art of their newly adopted home country. Students will be asked to compare and contrast some of the new aspects of art they have experienced with art forms more familiar to them. They will express some of what they have learned with the use of images and music. Students will complete a group project about the arts they explore, to be presented to the school and community. This will be presented at a community meeting and can be included as part of our final report to Southwest Minnesota Arts Council. They will receive credit for this to be accountable for the process. The students are English Language Learners at various levels. The questions on the worksheet reflect this. Adults will be asked to reflect on what they learned on this trip, as well.

Measurable Outcome(s)

20 students and 3 adults (100% of respondents) reported seeing something completely new to them. 3/4 of respondents were able to make a connection with something familiar and one of the arts experiences. 100% said they would like to do it again, and a few have already asked if we'll do it next year!

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Scott Conn, Stephen Enger, Erik Bjerke, Val Halvorson, Cory Thorsland, Earl Molden
Project Overview

Arts in the Schools

Project Details

English Learners Art and Culture Field Trip

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Lac qui Parle Valley School
Street Address
2860 291st Ave
Zip Code
(320) 752-4800
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwest Minnesota State University Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aaake: Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Mary Kay Frisvold: Music; Jeff Iverson: Music, theatre; Joyce Meyer: Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Kelly Pochardt: Visual art; John Voit: Music, theatre.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Nicole DeBoer (507) 537-1471