Minnesota's Legacy

Arts in the Schools

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Lester Prairie Public School
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
March 2016
End Date
May 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The goals of the proposed residency are threefold; to explore and share individual student stories, to build understanding and connectedness between middle school students, and to experience cross-curricular learning while working with a professional artist. Information will be gathered from students utilizing the attached student evaluation form, and exhibit attendees will have an opportunity for comment on the audience feedback easel. In addition, attendance will be tracked for students and the audience at the community events. Data from all sources will be compiled for analysis and used to determine the final impact for students and the residency goals. Participating staff will complete appropriate sections of the evaluation form and provide anecdotal comments on student engagement.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Seventy percent of the core group participants completed and returned evaluation forms. Additional evaluation forms were completed by the elementary students who participated in the experiential classes for 1 or 2 sessions.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Karla Heigl, Rawelin Radtke, Steve Ziermann, Merri Lea Kyllo, Corbey Hentges, Mary Otto
Project Overview
Arts in the Schools
Project Details
Residency: "Talking Suitcases" with Susan Armington
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Lester Prairie Public School
Street Address
131 Hickory St N
Lester Prairie
Zip Code
(320) 296-0177
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, former High School English/creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: Human Resources Director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice/dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Mary Kay Frisvold: music/education; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Gretchen Otness: music/education; John Voit: music/theatre/education; Kari Weber: visual artist/education.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Greta Murray (507) 537-1471